What It’s Like Being a Christian Who Is Also a Feminist

Some people think these identities are in conflict with each other

Addie Stuber
The Salve

--

Getty Images

“What’s your take on gender roles in Christian relationships?” I choked on the whisky I had been sipping.

The question was casually posed by a guy I met on Hinge. Initially, I had been looking forward to meeting him. I’m a Christian who only recently has been trying to date within my faith, so the mention of God in his profile had set off happy bells in my brain.

But, the bells were now being replaced by wailing sirens, warning me of trouble up ahead. Setting down my glass, I replied: “I don’t think women are called to be subservient to men, if that’s what you’re asking.” He didn’t seem pleased by my answer, which was my cue to ask for the check.

I don’t think women are called to be subservient to men, if that’s what you’re asking.

The date illustrates a tension I routinely face as a woman who not only considers herself a Christian, but also a feminist. It’s a dual identity that creates cognitive dissonance in others, especially those who only ascribe to one of the two. Conservative Christians say I have to abandon my ideas about equality to preserve my faith, while non-religious…

--

--

Addie Stuber
The Salve

Essayist. Storyteller for brands. Ride or die Brooklynite. addiestuber.com