My moment in the sun

Jason Mark Beaton
The Sandwich
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2016

I marvel at these images. Stock photos of the perfect moment where the sun is setting over Yosemite. I’m genuinely hopeful of the couple, holding hands, about to journey into the redwood forest. I’m hopeful because if they can do it, so can I.

Instagram has allowed me to develop a sense of urgency to live out my dreams. It’s emboldening, which is pure insanity. Months before I joined Instagram, I didn’t dream of going to Yosemite in California, or visiting Trolltunga Cliff in Norway. Let me clarify. Sure I’d thought about going “one day”, but in that “wouldn’t that be nice” kind-of-way.

However, as I scroll through my feed while I’m watching some boring show about a house I’ll never own, or waiting for Windows to update on my work computer, my heart stops when I see those glorious images. You know, the one where the guy is holding out his arms, facing the sun on some cliffside something-beautiful. “This. This is where I want to be right now,” I say to myself. I convince myself that I deserve to take that trip. I deserve to put my life on hold to go find that moment in the sun.

But what will I do once I find that special spot?

…To Be Continued

--

--

Jason Mark Beaton
The Sandwich

Ruby developer, designer, Lifelong Learner, Dog Lover. Co-Founder of Hark http://www.youhark.com