The Sandwich

A True Story.

Kurt Henry
The Sandwich
2 min readNov 4, 2016

--

CREDIT

The summer is in full effect and it’s the kind of heat where sweat pools even when standing in front of an air conditioner. I’m part of a four-person crew, with aching backs and sore calves on top a slanted metal roof. Every minute is a battle to stay hydrated and coherent. When lunch break arrives, the crew and I do as normal. We gather at the trunk of a nearby oak tree for shade and rest. I pull out a pathetic ham sandwich on simple white bread, a sports drink, and a bag of chips. I take a couple bites when suddenly a large hand snatches the sandwich from my grip, time slows down, heart starts pounding, and my fight response kicks in. I jump up and Pete, the man who stole my sandwich says with conviction. “I’m not letting you eat that shit” fist still clenched I start analyzing his words. Barely acknowledging my anger Pete reaches into his lunchbox, takes out a massive sandwich, and hands me half. This sandwich had everything. Lettuce, pickles, two kinds of cheese, two kinds of meat, fat slices of tomato, mayo, and mustard. All stuffed inside, thick-cut multigrain bread. I was barely eighteen years old and what Pete did in that moment made me realize. I didn’t have to eat depressing white bread. My food could have layers. My food could look and taste however I wanted. I was no longer bound by my parents choice of ingredients. Pete has since passed on and I never got to tell him that the best sandwich I ever had. The sandwich he made, changed my life that day. Thank you, Pete.

In life, there are moments that to onlookers seem unimportant and sometimes are completely overlooked, mistaken or ignored. Short lessons that when presented by the right teacher, at the right time, to the right student can have life-altering impact. I’m creating a blog to share these moments with the world, in hopes that these compact lessons will touch even more lives. Do you remember an ordinary moment you realized something profound? If so I’d love to hear your story!

https://www.facebook.com/openfaced

--

--

Kurt Henry
The Sandwich

Keeping it real on the positive side of life. I write to add genuine value with zero sugar coating for fellow thinkers.