Goodbye 2022. The Year when Hope Returned.

Jay (Vijayasimha BR)
The Sanguine Tech Trainer
3 min readDec 17, 2022
Photo by Vijayasimha BR on Unsplash

It occurred to me this afternoon that, the year is almost over. Another exciting year comes to an end. Prepping for the next one.

In a world filled with so much misery, it is almost impossible to complain about things without coming across as an inconsiderate awful human being. That is essentially what I do with my blog posts and especially in my podcast.

Still. I can only speak from my perspective. So, my problems, small as they might be in the grand scheme of things, are worth talking about. The good stuff, generous as they are, are also worth mentioning.

2022, is essentially the year when, touch wood and hoping that I am not tempting fate, things started looking up for me professionally and personally.

For one thing, I was able to leave the pandemic behind me. Yes. The pandemic definitely altered my life irrevocably. It has left a lasting impression, and consequences that will stay with me till I die.

This was also the year when I began to accept that my marriage is truly over, and that, there is zero chance of my spouse returning or any chance of me getting to see my children again.

Simultaneously, this was also the year when I began to accept that my parents have truly abandoned me, and as a grown man, I will have to accept the irreparable situation that comes with it. Dust off my shoulder, shrug and resign, and move on.

Of course, I tried and failed and eventually learnt to accept that, I will not be able to resurrect my company that shut down a year ago, during the height of the pandemic.

So many losses, and So much of acceptance. Ah! Life, eh? You cannot escape what is already decided for you by the gods.

It is what it is, and we must learn to play the cards that are dealt to us.

Meanwhile, it was not all bad news.

Last year, I retired as a developer. This year, thanks to circumstances, I was able to return to working as a developer again.

Last year, I was burdened with a mountain of debt that I took on to restore my relationship with my spouse as well as my parents. Whilst the spouse and parents are permanently gone from my life, this year, at least, the debt has been considerably reduced.

This was also the year, when I became more accepting of my personal limitations. Previously, I would fight and fight, and lose and lose. Now, I am like, ‘whoa! It’s okay to be not cool anymore’.

Lastly, I finally achieved the goal of ’20 hour work week’. I have been chasing this goal for ten years. So, that’s a very good news.

I became more regular with my blogging. Have a bunch of followers and regular readership.

I became more regular with my podcast. Also, have some listeners on that.

Returned to my gaming routes. Ah! Child like joy, is back in play.

Made new friends and potential long term business relationship. A promise of some fantastical professional growth. Yes, very nice.

All in all, it has been a fun year. Looking forward to the next year, 2023, which will definitely bring its share of miseries, dangers and joys.

Exciting times lie ahead!

I work as a full-time freelance coding tutor. Hire me at UpWork or Fiverr or Stack Overflow. My personal website is here. Find more of my art at Behance and Unsplash and ArtStation. Also, I have a Podcast about everyday life. And, a 2nd Podcast, where I talk about freelancing. And, I have one more podcast, where, I talk about movies.

--

--