I bought my First TV. Whoa! Mind Totally Blown

Jay (Vijayasimha BR)
The Sanguine Tech Trainer
3 min readDec 22, 2022
Photo by mahdi chaghari on Unsplash

Every year, I spend thousands of dollars on all sorts of gadgets. But, I never owned a TV. To me, a television set always felt like a strange way to consume entertainment. Now that I own a TV myself, it’s a fascinating piece of technology, isn’t it?

Even when I was a kid, I never understood people’s fascination with TV and TV entertainment. After puberty, with girls taking all my mind space, there was no room for TV at all.

By the time I hit college, I fought with abusive parents to get my own computer, and after that, and till now, computers, laptops, Xbox, Tablets and Smartphones became the primary way for me to consume entertainment.

Something, that appeared to be the better way for me. Things really became solid, after I purchased the iMac. Everything, I mean, Everything, looks incredibly gorgeous on the iMac.

Then, I am now very close to 40, I am trying to detach myself from my computers and gadgets and all those wires and apps and stuff. So, I decided to buy a TV. I decided about 2 to 3 months ago. However, conditions only developed recently to allow me to actually own one.

I am not very wealthy, of course. I am still reducing my debts from the pandemic years. My budget was limited. Eventually, after much consideration, I ended up, buying this.

source, the mi.com india site.

I bought this for the following reasons.

  1. it’s 1080p. In India, 720p TVs are all the rage and also very cheap. However, I figured, 1080p is the sweet spot for gaming and also movies.
  2. It’s not expensive.
  3. It is a SMART TV. It has my favorite apps — Prime Video, Disney Hotstar, Apple TV and also VLC player.
  4. It’s 40 inches. Which is the same size as my TV couch.

So, yeah, it seems like a good fit for me.

Photo by Alireza Esmaeeli on Unsplash

I have only had it for a few days, but, I am already beginning to see why, in most households and for most people, TV is the center of their lives. Along with smartphones, of course.

They are easy to use. Just press a button and it turns on.

Press another button to play movies and TV shows.

Press another button to increase or decrease volume.

It’s all remotely done. So, I can just lie on my couch, and just enjoy entertainment, stress free.

After all these years, especially at my middle age/old age, I got to say. TV is nice. It is, after all, not a strange way to consume entertainment.

I work as a full-time freelance coding tutor. Hire me at UpWork or Fiverr or Stack Overflow. My personal website is here. Find more of my art at Behance and Unsplash and ArtStation. Also, I have a Podcast about everyday life. And, a 2nd Podcast, where I talk about freelancing. And, I have one more podcast, where, I talk about movies.

--

--