Lego Builder’s Journey on Apple Arcade — Inventive, Fun and Relaxing

Jay (Vijayasimha BR)
The Sanguine Tech Trainer
4 min readSep 24, 2021
Beautiful. Just like Real Lego. screenshots from my own iPad.

As usual, I am once again picking up games from Apple Arcade that appeal to me. There are very few benefits of growing up poor. For one thing, from a young age, the goal in life is, ‘earn enough money someday to pay for food and rent on time’.

You keep thinking that goal every day, from as early as age five, you rarely have time to think of other things.

Still, a young boy watches Hollywood movies. Read western books in the library. Drools on the wonderful toys that the well off families and their children get to play. One of those toys that I always wanted to play, was Lego.

By the time, I had enough money to expensive Lego blocks, I was 35. When my children were born, I got excited. Then, my wife left me and took the kids with her. So, I suppose, I will never ever get to play with Lego.

Anyway, that’s neither her nor there. However, Playing this game, was sort of like a fulfillment of that childhood dream for me. It’s really good, and every now and then, I got emotional.

Tetris in 3D

Apparently, there is an RTX edition of this on Windows. I will play it on my RTX 3060 computer eventually. It should be fun.

Like so many games in Apple Arcade, this game is also incredibly beautiful. I now have more than 20 games under my belt. Things are becoming so good with my relationship with Apple Arcade, I have begun to assume that all games are beautiful, and there is an additional ‘even more beautiful’ category.

This game falls under the ‘even more beautiful category’. As I have mentioned in the image caption, I did some research. There appears to be an RTX enhanced version available for windows. I have been doing some digital art, and have resumed my photography hobby. I think, I will explore that windows edition, just to appreciate the visuals at a higher resolution with ray tracing.

Moving on from the visuals, the game is kind of like Tetris mixed with path making. In each level, the idea is to use the environment to help the player character go from point A to point B. Just like real life Lego, you build the world, helping the character hop around with available Lego blocks.

Something New…Every level

Pretty floating islands

I cannot be sure how many levels there are in this game. I have been playing this for days now, but I seem to have barely scratched the surface. The core concept is path building and hopping, but every now and then, an additional mechanic gets added.

Sometimes, it’s physics based platforms that go up and down based on weight. Other times, you use the cloning machine to build new parts, and use them to ramp things up and down to reach a lower or higher destination. Other times, the puzzles are divided into multiple rooms.

There are no hints or clues on how to do a specific level. Unlike other puzzle games, I did not get stuck or look at assistance in YouTube or gaming forums. The difficult escalates in a very organic way. New concepts, like the weight platforms or cloning machine are introduced slowly.

Final Note

I have always loved night scenes.

I am prone to repeating myself a lot, and I will say it again. This games is beautiful. I only played this on the iPad Mini, and it looks beautiful. The music is very soothing, and there is a bit of story.

Yes, of course, it made one of my unfulfilled wish of playing with Lego, come true. It’s a great game.

I work as a full time freelance coding tutor. Hire me at UpWork or Fiverr. My personal website is here.

--

--