The Nokia 3310 is the perfect phone for Mom — when the price drops that is

Jay (Vijayasimha BR)
The Sanguine Tech Trainer
3 min readMay 27, 2017
the classic nokia 3310

So, the 3310 is making a comeback, thanks to the good folks at HMD Global.

To me though, it’s a moment of heartwarming. I owned a ton of Nokia phones during my mobile phone usage history. As of this writing, I must be on my 15th or 20th phone but until recently, all the phones I owned were Nokia. Then, stuff happened and you know, things went out of control. HMD Global is also a Finnish company just like Nokia, and I believe at least some of the folks running the show are part of the original Nokia team. That’s good.

Sure, Nokia may never make another windows phone again. That’s because, no one should. They will soon be selling android phones (which fails to excite me because Android! also because it is becoming extremely impossible to tell a good android phone and a bad one, and I doubt there is anything Nokia can do to differentiate themselves in a market with so many players) which is natural.

What really gets me excited is that they are redoing the good old Nokia 3310. Back in my college days, when all the cool kids (and uncool kids) were rocking mobile phones, it was the Nokia 3310 in a lot of people’s hands. Not my hand (because, I could not afford one) but everybody’s hands. Heck, there were ads being put out teaching people not buy the fake nokia-lookalikes in television. That’s how famous Nokia was? *tears roll*

Anyway, 3310 is coming back with some modern modifications. A color screen with decent viewing angles. MP3 support. Basic browsing capabilities. All day battery (which can probably go for a week for those who use their phones sparingly). I don’t think there is a touch screen, and I am going to assume that the phone can survive drops, being sit on and accidentally (or in my case, intentionally) dropped into water without all those fancy ‘IP67 under IEC standard 60529’ stuff.

In other words, that seems to be the perfect phone for mom. Mom declined to upgrade to a full featured, all touch phone back when Dad did upgrade, 2 months ago. I spent ages man, ages but all went to nothing. However, the nokia 3310 is something she would like. She recognizes the nokia brand, and it has actual buttons. Nice!

Unfortunately, the 3310 is not available to be purchased online. That’s odd. I am sure it will eventually make its way online but looks like I must go looking for a store that will sell these phones. I will post a review (as dictated by my mom) of the phone once I get it and its used for a while.

I haven’t been excited for a phone in a long time. This should be fun.

Last minute add on. When I wrote this article, I was unaware of the price. Apparently, the phone is going to cost 3310. The big question is why? No phone with the above features should cost that much. Talk about ruining something. *shakes head in disbelief*

--

--