What replaces my iPad Mini?

Jay (Vijayasimha BR)
The Sanguine Tech Trainer
3 min readNov 22, 2022

--

Ah. the ageing iPad Mini. It has been a good friend.

This year, I have been ritualistically replacing all my ageing gadgets. new computers. new desks. new monitors. new everything. It’s time to replace the 2-year-old iPad Mini.

It’s incredible that it was only 6 months ago, we were still wearing masks and trying to survive and see where the end is. In those 6 months, god’s blessings and client’s grace, I have been paying off large amounts of debt that I accrued during the pandemic.

No, I did not gamble away my savings. I had to borrow heavily to keep my family fed and put a roof over their head.

Anyway, that also meant, all my gadgets, computers, home office stuff (I work as a full-time freelance coding tutor and developer), had become old. I had not bought anything new since 2019. So, all the higher priority stuff has been purchased brand new.

Seriously my home office has everything new. It’s such a relief and comfort to be using new devices again.

Now, only two things remain on my horizon. One of them is to replace my ageing Xbox One S. The One rarely sees any action these days, so, that can wait.

However, what cannot wait, though, is the iPad situation. The iPad Mini is roughly 2 plus years old. There is nothing (yet) wrong with it of course. As it was with the previous iPhone that got replaced a few months ago with a new iPhone, I am feeling the ‘slowness’ with this iPad.

Apps take a second longer to do things. There is that momentary, brief freeze. Like a, half a second.

The battery life is still very good. I get 4 to 5 hours on a full charge of browsing and movie watching. Nothing that is life ending.

Still, I think, it’s time to relegate this iPad Mini to the ‘back up’ device category. Yes. It’s getting heavy usage. Especially this year, I have gone all in a ton of creative endeavors. Podcasting and Photoshop related work has increased. I have even started sketching with the Apple Pencil.

Along with that, there is a decent amount of call of duty mobile (and upcoming call of duty warzone) and board games happening.

The workload on the tablet has increased, and it will keep increasing as time goes by.

So, yes, it’s time to replace the iPad Mini.

The Next Device?

I think, I will go with the iPad 9th Generation. Yes, yes, Apple has released the iPad 10th Generation. However, the difference between A13 and A14 is minimal. Further, the USB C connector wont really help my current situation.

My new iPhone is still lightning connector, so, I am happy with lightning. More importantly, as with the rest of the world, there are always some deals and sales going on for the iPad 9th Generation.

Further, the new iPad Mini is ruled out because, it has become way too expensive. Also, for my Photoshop and sketching needs, I need a bigger screen. and, the iPad Air/iPad Pro are too expensive for my current needs. The base level iPad can do everything the Air and Pro can do.

So, that is my current decision. I am not sure when I will place an order for the new iPad.

But, it’s sooner rather than later.

I work as a full-time freelance coding tutor. Hire me at UpWork or Fiverr or Stack Overflow. My personal website is here. Find more of my art at Behance and Unsplash and ArtStation. Also, I have a Podcast about everyday life. And, a 2nd Podcast, where I talk about freelancing. And, I have one more podcast, where, I talk about movies.

--

--