The Dowry

Varalakshmi
The Sanskari Dude
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2017
Image Courtesy: Google

After quite an eventful day, I wait with all hopes to reach my dream destination*. I find none bothered about me. And when they did, they demand huge sum of money with zero sense of shame. Do they build a house made of GOLD or PLATINUM? Then why on earth would they demand so much?

Sometimes, I bear with them. Sometimes, I lose temper. With shattered hopes, I take difficult roads to my destination. Most of the times, I complain, nag and give up. So much of hateful, hostile and horrendous moments I carry all along with me. This journey of keeping things deeply buried within me began to eat my senses and emotions every now and then.

Bruce Lee by words

Image Courtesy: Google

I wanted to react, stop the atrocity and voice out for myself. If I ain’t going to speak out for me, will the world bother to reach out to me? With the same spark, I took an oath to speak for myself. Like every other day, I waited! This time, I was pretty much ready to talk back.

The conversation started and he did demand me more.

Me: <My destination>

He: INR XXX

Me: Shocked again! Why should I give you that much?

He: His excuses.

Me: I earn to feed myself and not feed you, your closest or second family.

He: Perplexed. Okay madam ji. INR XXX (2% reduction)

Me: You moron! You are not taking me by sky and you don’t have a vehicle made out of gold!

He: Startles. Please get in madam.

Rest in Peace

Courtesy: Google

That was the happiest day in my life. Though I find it very hard to fight with every other AUTO WALAs, I sometimes gather some energy and a bit of courage to fight with them. I am not here to preach violence or to sabotage anyone’s image with foul language. Most of them who stay in Bengaluru, India encounter this issue. If you happen to choose your private transport, you end up screaming at people who drive carelessly. And if you happen to choose public transport, you end up frowning with fellow passengers for being so irritating. So, travelling to your workplace is always a war. Most of the times you win with a huge debt. The DOWRY man is the reason! Say no to DOWRY! Dedicated to all the fellow Bengalurians…

PS: *Dream Destination — Home

--

--

Varalakshmi
The Sanskari Dude

Creative Director| Writer | Poet | Social Media Enthusiast | Blogger| Marketing Maniac