I penned this letter to myself from God.

Coco Densmore
The Scarlett Letter
5 min readJun 28, 2024

--

Photo by Amaury Gutierrez on Unsplash

November 20, 2021

Earlier, I was beseeching God, again, again, again, again, about how I can find my way to let go of Jeff. I told God if his wife would just forgive me, I’d maybe be able to let it go or at least stop tormenting myself to such a grand degree.

I penned this letter to myself from God. Is it from God? I don’t know. But it’s from that part of God who lives inside of me who wants me to be absolutely and totally free.

Dearest Coco,

She has forgiven you. But you’ve got to stop emailing him. For your own sake.

She loves him. She didn’t for a while, or she didn’t feel like she did. Then she found out about the affair, and some things became clear, and even though he fell so far into the black, she loved him, and she took him back.

And he loves her, with all of his heart. And he loves his family and will never jeopardize his family again.

She doesn’t hate you. She did for a while, but just at first. Yet, almost from the beginning, she knew it was all Jeff.

It’s not on you, Coco, stop owning it. You did what you did for your own reasons, out of your own sickness. You knew it was wrong, you knew there would be negative consequences, but you didn’t set out to hurt his wife or his kids. You put…

--

--

Coco Densmore
The Scarlett Letter

Coco Densmore writes about Embracing Her Single, being HSV-2+, living with bipolar mental illness, and overcoming childhood sexual abuse. www.cocodensmore.com.