No One Tells You Why Work Affairs Are Dangerous (Part 1)

Work liaisons are a constant temptation when you are in an unhappy marriage and you have an office spouse

blitzpackage
The Scarlett Letter
5 min readDec 28, 2023

--

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

It was already turning into a busy Monday morning at the tech startup where I ran Operations. I was setting up to host our weekly channel meeting with all the department heads.

I was sitting at the head of the conference room table, paying little attention to the people coming in when, in my peripheral vision, I noticed someone new walking into the room. I immediately looked up and caught her gaze. I couldn’t take my eyes off her.

She was a petite blonde with shoulder-length hair, glasses, happy eyes, a white blouse, plaid miniskirt, and black boots. I guessed her height was around 5' 2".

My eyes quickly traced the lines of the inner thighs of her slender legs as they vanished underneath her skirt. I immediately stood up.

“Hello!” she said as she reached out her hand to shake mine across the conference room table. “My name is Jessica, and I just started working with the Accounting team.”

“Welcome to the team, Jessica — happy to have you,” I said with my usual, kind confidence, but my brain was already overclocking and pushing my thoughts into my dark side.

I wanted her with a raging, lusty hunger and sudden fire of desire I could feel pulsing all over my body. When we shook hands a jolt of electricity shot up my arm and down into my core.

She had a nerdy, theater major vibe about her — an X-factor that was turning me on and making me dizzy already, and we’d only known each other for about 15 seconds.

I wanted to spin her around, lift her skirt and slide my already-aroused cock inside her.

Stop that idiot, I said to myself.

“So you’re the Director of Ops?” she asked, pulling me out of my salacious daze.

“Well, I mean, I guess that’s what I’ve led them to believe,” I said with a smirk. She giggled perfectly. “So, what’s your role with the Accounting team?”

“Invoice auditor,” she said with a humble smile.

“Really?” I asked, somewhat surprised.

Jessica was clearly very articulate and confident and seemed highly intelligent. At the time, invoice auditing was a key component in our workflow, a few years in front of the advent of optical scanning, but also something we could accomplish with relatively low-wage help.

I could tell she saw my surprise.

“I’ve been a stay-at-home mom for a few years, but my husband has been trying to get his business off the ground, and we’ve needed benefits until he can get things off the ground. This role was open, and I figured I’d learn all about the waste/recycling broker business while I’m here.”

“Well, if you need anything, please let me know,” I said with a genuine smile, hiding my disappointment.

Dammit. She was married.

Of course, so was I, and this reality reminded me that I had a job to do.

I started the meeting, occasionally looking over to gaze at Jessica, who would meet my gaze with eyes that truly seemed to hold the same fire as my own. She’d planted a deep seed of desire inside me.

That seed had already taken root and would continue to grow as the days, weeks, months, and years would come to pass.

As luck would have it, the very next day, I went into the parking garage to jump in my car for the commute home but the engine would not boot.

I got out of my car to head back to the office to see if anyone could help me jump it when I noticed Jessica walking into the parking garage.

She was wearing slacks and heels with a floral-print blouse and black sunglasses. Her blonde hair was blowing in the wind. All those forbidden thoughts from our first meeting quickly returned as I watched her stroll towards me.

“Well, howdy, stranger!” she said with that infectious smile.

“Howdy yourself! Any chance you have a set of jumper cables in your car?” I asked somewhat sheepishly.

“Sorry, cowboy. I possess no such cables. However, I’m happy to give you a ride home if you’d like. Where do you live?” she asked, standing six feet in front of me.

“I live in Wildwood, actually,” I said as I could feel that dizzying wave of pure lust energy surging all through me.

“Well, my friend, you’re in luck because I live about 5 miles west of Wildwood, which means you are on my way home,” she said as she moved a few inches closer to me.

Was fate tempting me? Testing me? Or was this simply a serendipitous coincidence?

I’d already downplayed any perceptions I had that Jessica shared my lusty thoughts after one Monday Operations meeting on her first day of work, but she seemed eager to help. I took that as enough evidence to see what was what.

I jumped into her car, and we began the hour-long drive to my house.

We talked about our kids (she had two, and I had two) and spoke very politely about our spouses. Fairly quickly, I sensed that we would become fast friends but that we were both going to err on the side of fidelity. I honestly believed I’d misread any sense of ‘let’s fuck’ signaling I thought I was picking up during our first meeting.

I felt some sense of relief as I was trying to make it work with my wife, Sarah, as we worked hard to raise our two children, both of us with fairly busy and challenging careers.

An hour had flown by in the blink of an eye and now we were stopped in front of my house.

Did she enjoy this trip just as much as I did?

Thanks for the ride. You saved my life today, ya know,” I joked as I got out of her beat-up Rav-4.

Little did she and I know how much we’d change each other’s lives in the end.

Find out in the next installment.

Follow blitzpackage on The Scarlett Letter to get notified when he publishes his next installment. You can’t miss this story! I was riveted!

MonalisaSmiled

--

--

blitzpackage
The Scarlett Letter

Writer, podcaster, music producer, meditator, observer, renegade; fiercely masculine; leader and servant; student of consciousness and an examined life.