You Look at Me and Call it Sin

Easter confessions

Sir Mordred
The Scarlett Letter
2 min readApr 17, 2022

--

If we met in a bar and talked about our marriages,
would you judge me and disparage my actions?
If I told you my wife doesn’t touch me,
support me,
or want me sexually.
It’s her work, I’m a distraction.

I get by with a little help from my lover.
and yet you look at me, and call it sin.

Could you take my point of view?
And see cheating rationally.
Couples counseling for the better part of three years.
Or suggest us separating, because “getting older we just accept these
things”
And live with our fears.

I get by with a little help from my lover,
and yet you look at me, and call it sin.

I try to imagine a better tomorrow
where my wife and I laugh, touch, and care for each other
until we are old and grey.
And yet our feelings and conversations grow colder,
meanwhile I get so much from my lover,
and in her I wish I could stay.

I get by with a little help from my lover,
and yet you look at me, and call it sin.

She listens to me, feeds my soul,
and takes me in,
we share kisses, laughter, sex,

You look at me, and call it sin.
And yet I get by with a little help from my lover

MonalisaSmiled- for without her amazing sequencing, editing, and finishes; I would still be languishing in pain finishing. (thank you )

--

--

Sir Mordred
The Scarlett Letter

I am here to learn, observe, and laugh. I am just an average male in his early fifties, who woke up and wants more out of life.