A Casual Goodbye

Lunatic thoughts
Scene & Heard (SNH)
2 min readNov 16, 2017

I’d allow myself to be carried away
late at night by the leaves flying by
with it’s gentle caress
would the wind brush my dress
and I would finally cry

In the streetlight, the evening
would stride past my window
and ask me to dance in its splendour
and I’d take my best shoes
and the oncoming blues
would simply surrender

While the red of the night’s
mixed with grey and my thoughts
tumble forward
and over the edge
The rain washes down
my rusty, old crown
and I pine for my lost kingdom’s fate

but I am growing older
and I am growing bitter
and cynical almost…no wonder
although, I confess
we were one of the best
and I miss how we were…very fondly

I remember you often,
in colourful dresses — a puzzle to be rearranged
and you’d always wear smiles
for the saddest of times
and you’d always believe I could change

so the night washes over my drunken remarks
and my mind turns as blank as the sky
in the biggest of cities
that you and I visited once, but are now just two passers by

And the last of my words
Will go down with the wine
That you bought for us three years ago
But the taste has now faded
While we both have debated
To finally say the first word

In this endless melancholy
I finally sleep
With my brain finally losing its power
Though the night is so quiet
And both us are tired
The taste in my mouth still turns sour

You don’t tell me to “call you
sometime” anymore
And I feel like this is the right choice
Though my heart still stings
When I think of the things
That we both could have changed
If we would

And the days turn to nights
And nights turn into blurs
And I wish I could say what I feel
But we ran out of time
To reverse it this time
And I know that you know what I mean

So I curl up my hair
In my hand one more time
And we lean in for one more goodbye
Say: “Farewell, my old friend!”
Act like it’s not the end
While we both know that that, is a lie.

--

--