Chiquitico

Ernio Hernandez
Scene & Heard (SNH)
2 min readFeb 8, 2018

--

original photos by Davidson Luna and Sebastian Mena

Mamá y Papá mio

Grew up en Puerto Rico

With my tías and tíos they’d laugh and play
Til my abuelitas would call out and say
Vamos mis ninos, vénganse!
Mañana is another day.

The love they knew
is a love that grew
Across the sea, poquito a pico,
and down to me, chiquitico.

Mamá y Papá mio

Raised me in el barrio

With my primas and primos I’d laugh and play
Til the mamacitas would call out and say
Vamos mis ninos, vénganse!
Mañana is another day.

The love they shared
showed how much they cared
Like a warm wind, ay que rico,
that surrounded me, chiquitico.

Mamá y Papá mio

They are growing old

While their niñas and niños could laugh and play
Still the cielito is calling out to say
Vamos mis ninos, vénganse!
Mañana is for them to stay.

--

--