Joy Of Africa

Omar Talib
Scene & Heard (SNH)
1 min readSep 2, 2017
African Warrior

Sing for me your ancient tune
From bark of tree to desert dune
Set my mind and eyes ablaze
Walk me through primeval days

What distant force, what heartfelt hand
Combine to make your promised land
Africa hot, Africa cool
From mighty desert to ocean pool

Roughened roads to glistening glades,
Stark black rock to covered caves
Magnificent mountain, cobalt creeks
Brittle bedrock, snow capped peaks

Leopard pounds the drum in your heart
Lion steals his strength from craft
Cheetah channels all her might
Spurt of speed and out of sight

Share your wonder with my heart
Thundering falls, kingfishers dart
Shed your rainbow and etch my eye
My soul, my spirit is on a high.

--

--

Omar Talib
Scene & Heard (SNH)

Emotion: an entity as old as time, building block for the want and need to create words then stories. Without them, we would feel lonely, desperate, lost.