What has this city done to me?

Lunatic thoughts
Scene & Heard (SNH)
2 min readApr 24, 2018

I sit

the air is cold, but breathable

the wind has not yet come.

I force a coffee down my throat

and one thin cigarette…

“So… are you having fun?”

you asked me, 3 weeks ago at nine,

it was the last time that we spoke.

Apologies, I didn’t have a lot of time

I count it by the cigarettes I smoke.

Yesterday, for instance, I had approximately 20

approximately 20 time — I’m sorry that I didn’t call you

I just didn’t want to talk… I wanted to cry.

I count the time I have, also, by the litres of beer

that make a little ocean in my belly

the more I drink, the less I fear.

And I have to fear little, if I want to catch some sleep

I have to wake at eight, you see, to try and get a seat.

The earlier I wake, the more exceptional the city looks,

the mountain in the middle of it is drawn straight from a book,

at first I climbed it for the sight

then for the view

and then to clear my cough

and then, one last time, to throw myself off.

I didn’t, in the end, it was too much too late,

with seven deadlines facing me already

I didn’t need an eighth.

So, I went back to moping

to writing essays and drinking beers

to forcing coffee down my throat

at unreasonable hours

to choking down my tears.

Last night when I came home

and looked into the mirror,

I thought that I would find

a face that, although thinner,

would look at least similar to mine

but what stared back upon me

was just a hollow shape

and I’ve done, badly, many times

but this one took the cake.

--

--