Alternative Career Options

TSA-Admin
The Scholars’ Avenue
4 min readJul 29, 2022

We got in touch with Diya Goldar (MT ‘21), who achieved the exceedingly impressive feat of cracking the UPSC examination on her first try after graduating in 2021, securing a rank of 612. She was the SSM of SN/IG Hall of Residence during her time in Kharagpur. Read on to know more about how she cracked the civil services code.

When did you decide you were going to go into Civil Services and what motivated that decision?

I made a firm decision about going for civil services in my fourth year (I was a dual degree student) but the idea of civil services had attracted me since my second year. However, like any other KGPian, I was exploring and trying to find the job that fit me best and kept me motivated to work the most.

Pinpointing the sources of motivation is slightly difficult because they were not expected or even formal. They were little things. For instance, our Main Building has the quote “In the service of the Nation” but ironically, many of our students head out for greener pastures and their contribution in Nation-building or service is very “indirect” if not negligible in most (not all) cases. However, I wanted to work “directly” with the people and reap the fruits of my work by observing its tangible impact. And civil services do offer this opportunity.

When did you start preparing for the exam and interview?

I started preparing for the Prelims and Mains after the lockdown, when I returned home, alongside my academic curriculum. Interview preparation started only after I cleared Mains.

What was the support provided to you by the institute?

The institute does not have a formal support system (I didn’t know of any, at least). Informally there was some help. For instance, some like-minded people gave me a book list; that was my first exposure to this field on a working level. Also, Neha Banerjee’s (IAS of West Bengal Cadre) feat inspired me even though I was junior to her.

Clearing the exam in the first attempt is no small feat, how would you describe your journey?

Thank you! Well, the journey had its ups & downs. I became informed about international relations, macroeconomics, diplomacy, and so on and so forth. So, I have learned a lot and grown up in the process. And of course, the fruits of the journey taste sweet only because the journey was not easy: I couldn’t attend convocation, sacrificed social media for some time, finances troubled me, et cetera.

PORs are a big bone of contention amongst the student community. Having been the SSM of the SN/IG Hall of Residence, how much of a role would you say a POR has if you’re planning to pursue Civil Services?

Being the SSM was one of the determining factors that pushed me into this field. However, let me tell you that it was not for the tag of “POR” and even if I had not mentioned POR in my CV/DAF, I would have been equally convinced to go for this field.

As an SSM, I realised that I was happiest when I interacted with people. I knew from that moment onwards that I was a so-called “people’s person”. I learned social skills also. In the senate, I navigated with caution to ensure as a girls’ hall representative, that we were not ignored for being a minority there and instead, I tried to bring our best practices to the table so that others could be helped. So, it was the experience that helped me and not the tag.

Even without POR, one can clear this examination with flying colours. If you believe in yourself and cultivate appreciable qualities, you don’t need a tag. This examination is conducted by a set of very experienced people whose span of service life is more than our age and not some cool coder in their 20s.

What are your plans for the future?

I am waiting for my service allocation. And I will be joining the training in LBSNAA from 29th August 2022 tentatively. Then, there will be newer missions, I guess.

Any parting advice for the present undergraduates?

Honestly, I don’t like to advise people because I feel that being older does not make one flawless. However, I will share my simple learnings: Choose your profession according to your field of interest. Look at the trends once in a while but don’t just blindly follow the herd. Finally, I should tell you that the KGP undergrads are very, very talented and full of life and you should know it too if you are a KGP undergrad. So, be confident, be happy, be simple…Take good care of yourself!

--

--