A newcomer’s perspective on UX Design programmes

livia patru
The School of Design
4 min readMay 12, 2021

--

What programme best fits you?

I love personal growth. I love investing my time in anything that will get me a slightly better version of myself. Recently, I was hit in the face by a topic I knew nothing technical about: UX Design.

During my teen years I constantly felt that I have ‘an eye’ for art and problem solving, but I didn’t see this trait as a priority. Now, however, I am stepping into this unexpected journey of learning about design and what makes it so great. Let me introduce you to my opinions so far.

If you do a quick research on Design Schools, Bootcamps or any other type of programme, you will get to see a sea of opportunities. Some of them are online, some part of a University, some guarantee hiring after graduation. There is A LOT to choose from and each one sounds like it will completely change your life and career path.

Considering the fact that new chances rise at almost every step in this domain, let’s spill the tea about a few Design Bootcamps. First things first, start by asking yourself the big questions.

Do I want to work alone or do I prefer being a part of a group?

How much time and money do I have to spend on one of these programmes?

Will I be able to work in this industry after I complete this Product Design/UX Programme?

OK OK, take 5 minutes and write them down. Go on, you are inspired now.

Before we move on, make sure to have this list somewhere close to you, so they can be a bit in your face. In this way you will never lose your purpose or main interests.

You done?

In my perspective, the most important answer to these dilemmas is to know exactly what you wish for in these programmes. Do you want mentorship? Great, there are some private Schools that offer it. Do you want to be part of a community? Nice, some Bootcamps guarantee this feature amongst others. The bottom line here is to really know what are some of the most important benefits to you. In my own research, I read about both Academic and Non-academic programmes, and as a newcomer, my first opinion is that private programmes tend to offer more 1:1 time with a Professor, Mentor or Tutor, while Faculties rely more on a full-time schedule and courses. Set up your top three wishes from your Design adventure and research accordingly.

The second thing to take into consideration is the fact that anything sounds amazing if it’s written well enough. I had the pleasure to read lots of descriptions and details about different programmes and oh, my, these writers know how to make a product look good! To get not only one or two, but lots of different perspectives, I highly recommend checking websites like Course Report for reviews. You will find sufficient information to create an overview and a wide range of ratings. You don’t necessarily have to rely on those opinions, but I think they are a good reality check about the enrollment and participation process in a Design Bootcamp, or course.

One big question coming up: do you function by the ‘work smart, not hard’ mantra? Because in most of these bootcamps, you’ll have to do both. Even if they are full- or part-time, they are a demanding, and sometimes laborious process. Sign up to a University and you dedicate 40+ hours a week. Pass the selection of a private School and you will spend between 10 to 20 hours a week, sometimes even 40, depending on your choice — part-time or full-time. Most of these programmes are for committed and driven individuals, who want to make a career or even change their lives. And let me tell you,the participants are chosen carefully by people who are at least as dedicated and passionate as you are. Since you read the article up to this point, I am assuming you are. They are lucky, lucky individuals who initially put all their time and effort into learning about design and problem solving, then got to move to a challenging and rewarding domain, contained by this vast and fresh industry. Finally, they turned their passion into a business, and the best thing is that you can do that too. Or just make a career out of it.

The last, but not least thing worth mentioning is the effort you have to put in. Always try your best, even if you haven’t seen the light at the end of the tunnel yet. No matter the programme you choose, someone will notice your hard work. Opportunity comes to those who are patient and resilient enough, but also seek it, thus your decision to apply should be reinforced by commitment and responsibility. Having done a great research and choice of a Product Design/UX Programme can only mean that you’re already far in your design journey. Moreover, your colleagues and Mentors or Professors will be great advisers and supporters of your progress. All is left to do is take advantage of every resource they offer and develop both your soft and hard skills.

To conclude, if you find yourself even for a bit in between these lines, this is a sign for you to pursue your passion of solving, creating and turning the usual into an unusual, unexpected yet memorable experience. Go on, you are ready now.

Livia-Mihaela Pătru

Feel free to share your thoughts in the comment section.

--

--