New & returning teachers: Computer Science Unit

Jia Parma
The Science Scholar
2 min readOct 5, 2016

We’ll be taking a look at Pisay’s new and returning teachers for the school year 2016–2017 over the next few weeks! Here are some facts about Ma’am Maria April Rose Andaca and Ma’am Aimee Fontanilla from the Computer Science unit.

Full Name: Aimee Theresa Avancena Fontanilla

Birthday: October 6

Hometown: San Jose del Monte, Bulacan

College degree & school: BS Computer Science, UP Diliman; Master of Advanced Studies in CS, Ateneo de Manila University; Master of Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology; PhD in Human System Science, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Motto: “What cannot kill me, makes me strong” — Nietzsche

Best feature: I like to enjoy life.

Why teach at Pisay? I like you. Pisay is the best high school. Not only that; it’s where not just future leaders of the Philippines [are, but future leaders of] society as well. There’s so much hope. I was part of it before, I want to be part of it again.

Top 3 qualities of a Pisay student: Knows how to give back to society, intelligent, can balance academic [life] and social [life].

If you were a tree, why? A tree gives shelter. It bears fruit and gives oxygen. It provides shade. When a tree dies, it add nutrients to the soil. That’s why it’s called the tree of life.

Why did you leave Pisay? I had to study because I received a Moubukagakusho [a Japanese government scholarship].

--

--

Jia Parma
The Science Scholar

Philippine Science High School // The Science Scholar