New Teachers: Social Science Unit

The Science Scholar
The Science Scholar
2 min readNov 5, 2017

This academic year, we welcome a new addition to the Social Science faculty unit! Get to know Sir Arnold Lapuz.

Sir Arnold Lapuz

“Kindness is my religion.” Those were the wise words of Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet, and the words Sir Arnold Lapuz lives by everyday.

Being born into a family of teachers, one might say Sir Lapuz inherited his love for teaching. As a kid, he was constantly surrounded by teachers, both at school and at home.

“I chose to become a teacher because primarily, I had teachers who, consciously and unconsciously, introduced me to the wonders and significance of the profession. Moreover, I have this desire to be of help or service to people, and teaching is definitely a way of fulfilling this,” he said.

Sir Lapuz is a Social Science teacher, fully cherishing the opportunity to teach the subject to STEM students. According to him, Social Science is an essential discipline for nation building, and is “important for the holistic development of a person.”

Despite being one of the new teachers in the school, the culture has helped him adjust and feel at home. His performance in last September’s Variety Show was one of his best experiences in the school by far, as he is very passionate about music and dancing.

“It gave me a chance to show everyone my bonggang side.”

What sections do you teach? Allow me to greet my 9-Lithium, 9-Rubidium, 12-E, 12-F, and 12-G classes. Bongga kayo!

Other than teaching, what are you passionate about? Hmmm…movies, theater, books, and dancing. Singing, too.

Choco na gatas o gatas na choco? Choco na gatas.

Who are your celebrity crushes? Locally, I have a big crush on Jake Ejercito. Meanwhile, Captain America, the gorgeous Chris Evans, is my Hollywood crush.

--

--

The Science Scholar
The Science Scholar

The official English publication of the Philippine Science High School–Main Campus. Views are representative of the entire paper.