How The Worst Year Ever Helped Me Embrace Mindfulness

Courtney Stars
The Second Act
Published in
3 min readJul 5, 2019

--

This past year has been a doozy. In the last 6 months or so I’ve:

  • Separated from my spouse of 12 years and started the divorce process
  • Learned my father was diagnosed with Stage 4 pancreatic cancer
  • Moved out of my “forever house” into a smaller house close by
  • Got a puppy
  • Got over my fear of highway driving
  • Taken my dad to chemo and/or a million appointments every week
  • Experienced serious financial challenges for the first time as an adult

I think it’s fair to say that I’ve got a lot going on. And it almost broke me down. But miraculously, during all of this hardship was when I finally discovered the true meaning of mindfulness and why it matters.

I was on the mindfulness bandwagon before it was cool. I trained to become a certified yoga teacher over a decade ago, so meditation, breathwork and moving with mindfulness are not foreign concepts for me. I’ve also read a LOT of personal development books over the years while on my Eternal Quest To Find Myself ™ — including many about mindfulness. I’ve meditated once in a while on my own, sporadically attended a few meditation groups, and listened to millions of YouTube guided meditations.

--

--

Courtney Stars
The Second Act

39. Writer. Single mom. INFP. Almost a millennial. Not quite Gen X. Essays about books, writing, & being a human.