Emotional Cheating Is Worse Than a Physical Affair, Here’s Why

Emotional connections are gateways to something more

Phoebe Kirke
The Secret Society

--

Photo by Helena Lopes: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-sharing-blanket-with-man-2055222/.

Typically, cheating means having sexual or romantic ties to someone other than your significant other. And in doing so, breaking the commitment or promise given. However, what is considered cheating is subjective.

So, where do you draw the line?

To me, having one too many drinks and making out with someone isn’t exactly cheating. What I couldn’t handle was knowing that there was someone my partner trusted more than me and shared things he wouldn’t share with me. I’d have to ask myself why he no longer felt safe discussing the things on his mind with me. Deep emotional bonds are much more important than fleeting sexual desires. Therefore, emotional cheating is worse than having a physical affair.

The main types of infidelity.

Each case of infidelity is different and fulfills a different need. However, given the circumstances and the state of the existing relationship, five different types of infidelity can be established. For example, there is opportunistic infidelity. It usually occurs as a spur-of-the-moment thing and has little to nothing to do with the existing committed relationship. More often than not, opportunistic infidelity…

--

--

Phoebe Kirke
The Secret Society

Feminist, activist, sister, but above all, hurt. Writing is my path to living life to the fullest.