Why Friends With Benefits Never Works, According to Science

How to stop getting caught in dreaded non-relationships

Phoebe Kirke
The Secret Society

--

Photo by Seth Doyle on Unsplash

If I were to ask you whether you’d agree to a friend with benefits type of arrangement, what would you say? The Hollywood box office hit Friends with Benefits starring Mila Kunis, and Justin Timberlake has touched on the subject. However, I am not convinced that these arrangements work long-term in reality.

It didn’t really in the movie either. However, while swiping left and right on my dating apps, I matched with many people looking for a friendship with benefits. It does sound quite beneficial on the surface: It’s a setup mimicking something like a romantic relationship without putting in the work of a relationship. And it’s a way to avoid getting hurt.

The problem: Uncertainty is inherently unsustainable.

What it is, what it is not, and everything in between

In this day and age of gray areas, who can still surf waves of non-commitment without capturing feelings? That’s what I’ve been asking myself over and over again. Because my experience shows that while the idea of friendship plus is not bad per se, it never works out over a long time.

--

--

Phoebe Kirke
The Secret Society

Feminist, activist, sister, but above all, hurt. Writing is my path to living life to the fullest.