For the love of movies

Lujain Alsedeg
The Selfish Writer
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2021

I was raised by the movies!

Good movies are my escape, they were and still to this day the things I looked forward the most in my days.

One

My first aha moment during a movie was an Egyptian one called Mafia, I remember loving that movie so much, I wanted to be the hero so bad, my first ever written piece was about how I wanted to be an intelligence officer like the hero in the movie, I read it out load in front of my whole class back in Grade 6 and I got my fair share of laughs over my secret dream job for a couple of week after that.

Two

I was a very shy kid, the only group of friends I felt a true feeling of belonging to were my friends behind the screen, I related to Amélie’s obsession with details more than the details of my own friends, I felt stuck in the loops of Memento more than the loops of my own childhood and I still to this day have my moments of whether this is all a dream or a dream within a dream.

Three

movies about filmmaking is a different type of magic, I get goosebumps every time I watch Hugo, or the great beyond, every glimpse of behind the scenes is adds a layer of my escapism tendencies, I don’t just to watch and escape, I want to help build the worlds that I will eventually escape to.

--

--