The Green New Deal, Listening, and Harry Potter

Dave Wheelroute
The Sensitive Armadillo
2 min readFeb 24, 2019
Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint

Couple caveats with this one.

  1. It’s not going to be very long for the same reason that I haven’t written a political piece in a while. I’m not sure my voice has much more value or insight beyond what more intelligent people and more involved people can provide beyond my own stance of opposition on this crucial moment in American history (and now, the world). That still has value, but I am just not a political savant at all beyond my own gut feelings. I’m just glad this website exists so we can know where we stood.
  2. I know many people have said that Harry Potter is a cliche thing for conventional, hivemind, liberal groups to compare the modern political landscape to, but this one is simple.

I’m not going to draw parallels between Donald Trump or Voldemort or anything. I’m not going to compare the regimes at all to the way groupthink seems to operate. I’m just going to leave it with one idea.

The kids fought in Harry Potter and the way the world reacted to them was with indifference at first. But not everyone. Some believed in them.

And the kids are the one who will inherit the Earth. And they don’t want it to be an apocalyptic hellscape as a result of a complete disdain for the environment.

So to the Democratic senator from California, Dianne Feinstein, who argued and seemed to altogether ignore the kids who are in favor of the Green New Deal, one of the most exciting bits of legislation to come along in the past fifty years, I have one thing to say. Listen to the kids.

Lord give us strength to endure the 2020 election cycle.

--

--

Dave Wheelroute
The Sensitive Armadillo

Writer of Saoirse Ronan Deserves an Oscar & The Television Project: 100 Favorite Shows. I also wrote a book entitled Paradigms as a Second Language!