Transgender Bathrooms, Control, and the Court Trial of Tyrion Lannister

Dave Wheelroute
The Sensitive Armadillo
5 min readMar 5, 2017
Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage) mounts his defense and calls for a trial by combat.

“Yes, father. I’m guilty. Guilty. Is that what you want to hear?” Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage) begins when mounting a defense of his own character. It’s certainly not what the audience for HBO’s mega-hit, Game of Thrones, wanted to hear. You’re innocent, Tyrion, don’t confess! I thought as he began his rousing speech. Or, at least, we didn’t know that we wanted to hear it. For those of us who never read the books by George R.R. Martin, we had no idea what was coming next. And so, if you also haven’t seen any Game of Thrones episodes, I would recommend putting your spoiler blinders on. You need only know that Tyrion is on trial for a murder he did not commit.

His speech continues, “I am guilty of a far more monstrous crime. I am guilty of being a dwarf.” His father, Tywin (Charles Dance), presses. “You are not on trial for being a dwarf.” Tyrion becomes even more inflamed.

“Oh, yes I am. I’ve been on trial for that my entire life…I did not kill Joffrey but I wish that I had. Watching your vicious bastard die gave me more relief than a thousand lying whores…I wish I was the monster you think I am. I wish I had enough poison for the whole pack of you. I would gladly give my life to watch you all swallow it…I will not give my life for Joffrey’s murder. And I know I’ll get no justice here, so I will let the gods decide my fate. I demand a trial by combat!”

If you comb through this badass speech that ranks among the best of all-time in the history of television and you take out the part about bastards and gods and wanting to poison an entire empire and the whole trial by combat thing (it’s all just classic Tyrion, really), you get a speech that’s about something much more applicable than a fantasy realm where dragons are as revered as Sean Bean.

Tyrion is frustrated. He feels like the only people he loves in the world have abandoned him (which is why it’s such a powerful moment when his brother, Jaime (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau), proves that he will always stay loyal to his brother) so he lashes out. But after a life of prejudice and judgement, it would only make sense that Tyrion snaps at this point, one of the lowest of his life. It’s rife with injustice on the part of the law and utter cruelty on the part of Tywin who has never allowed his son to enjoy something resembling peace of mind. All of this only because he is a dwarf. Would Tyrion choose to be a dwarf if he could? Probably not. But that’s the way he was born and the condition has shaped his life just as much as any other influence in his world. He might not be the same Tyrion we adore without his dwarfism, but he would also be allowed freedom from the pain that comes with being physically different than what society expects to be the “proper” way to look and live.

So does Tywin Lannister care about whether or not his son committed a murder? Or does he care that he was born a dwarf? Does he really care that his son isn’t who he wanted him to be? But one would think happiness and health would be enough for a father. Instead, Tywin aims to take that away from Tyrion, too. It’s not about murder or height or fatherhood for Tywin Lannister. It’s about control. His son (not by choice) did not live up to his father’s unruly expectations. So, for retribution, Tywin feels that he is well within his rights to do whatever it takes to control Tyrion.

“I’ve been on trial for [being a dwarf] my entire life” is an impactful quote. It stuck with me long after I watched the “The Laws of Gods and Men” for the first time. Being a dwarf is something that is out of Tyrion’s control, but even more out of his reach is the way people treat him for his height. Why does the kingdom care, though? How does Tyrion’s height affect or harm their lives in any way? The obvious answer is that it doesn’t. It’s a person whose physical differences are being exploited for the sake of people who lack the empathy to understand that there is more than one way to be a man or a woman just so they can feel superior to someone. People like Tywin enable this for them all. People like Tyrion combat this and they do so with a sound argument. But it doesn’t matter. It’s worrisome that it seems like people would gladly sacrifice individuality for normalcy. Where’s the fun in that? I would much rather hang out with a whole bunch of people of all different types. I want to get a drink with Tyrion Lannister. That’d be fucking awesome. I also want to slice candlesticks with Arya Stark (Maisie Williams). It would be pretty cool to own a direwolf with Jon Snow (Kit Harington), too. I bet there are a couple things they all could teach me. I’m better when I’m learning.

In response to the rollback of rules for transgender people to use the bathroom of their choice, Tyrion’s quote could be amended to “I’ve been on trial for being transgender my entire life.” Being a transgender is something that is out of the control of an individual, but even more out of his, or her, (or insert correct pronoun here), reach is the way they are treated for this characteristic that they know in their hearts to be true. Sometimes, you just know, the same way I’m a man who knows I’m a man. But I’m just one person and I don’t know how everyone else feels.

Why does the country care, though? How does a person’s gender affect or harm their lives in any way? The obvious answer is that it doesn’t. It’s a person whose physical differences are being exploited for the sake of people who lack the empathy to understand that there is more than one way to be a man or a woman just so they can feel superior to someone. People like Donald Trump enable this for them all. Transgender people combat this and they do so with a sound argument. But it doesn’t matter. It’s worrisome that it seems like people would gladly sacrifice individuality for normalcy. Where’s the fun in that? I would much rather hang out with a whole bunch of people of all different types. I want to meet Laverne Cox. I think she’s a great actress. And I’ve never seen The Matrix, but I’ve heard great things. Especially from the script by Lana and Lilly Wachowski.

The rollback on bathroom laws is not a measure to “protect” people from the “dangers” of transgender people. That’d be silly. No transgender people have attacked anyone in bathrooms since their deserved freedoms have been expanded. If the lawmakers actually cared about protection from sexual assault in public places, they might have thought twice about the presidential candidate they endorsed.

Next week: Donald Trump’s first month, torture, and Rumours by Fleetwood Mac.

--

--

Dave Wheelroute
The Sensitive Armadillo

Writer of Saoirse Ronan Deserves an Oscar & The Television Project: 100 Favorite Shows. I also wrote a book entitled Paradigms as a Second Language!