Alan Smithson’s Words of Advice That Kept Me Thinking, Weeks After Our Conversation

Zayn Patel
The Shadow
Published in
7 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

November 29, 2020. It was a Sunday morning and I was scrolling through LinkedIn attempting to find people in the VR industry to connect with. I landed upon Alan’s profile, checked out his company, and wanted to immediately set up a chat for us to talk.

I sent him a message and to my surprise, he responded less than an hour after I reached out to him.

Alan giving a Ted Talk on the Marriage of Technology and Education

Last month, I had the opportunity to chat with Alan, CEO of MetaVRse, 2x Podcast Host, and XR expert, and wanted to share __ key things that stood out to me and how I’ve introduced those strategies into my life.

I’m all about efficiency so here’s what I’m going to discuss today.

  1. Advice Point 1 → The Value of Personal Branding and How to Create A Meaningful One
  2. Advice Point 2 → Be Context-Aware + Know What’s Going on Everywhere
  3. Advice Point 3 → Choosing the Best Group of Peers + Friends
  4. TL;DR

The Value of Personal Branding and How to Create A Meaningful One

Alan mentioned that companies come and go, yet your personal brand is eternal, it’s something that will always provide you value and represents how people…

--

--

Zayn Patel
The Shadow

Working on space technology and policy, improving government with data science, and launching a cubesat mission.