Apple M1 Processors. I was wrong about those. Here is Why

Dmitry Yarygin
The Shadow
Published in
4 min readApr 17, 2021

--

Photo by el alce web on Unsplash

I’ve bought an M1 MacBook Air despite many concerns that I thought of and voiced in one of my Medium articles. I was concerned about the new architecture, the closed platform I am subscribing myself into and many other factors. Let’s see if any of those were indeed true?

Battery Life

Well, Apple has claimed a phenomenal battery life that will outperform anything else. It seems like it lived up to the promise, however it mostly behaves like that when Apple applications are used (e.g Safari, Mail, etc.) and not as great when using other apps.

I am using Firefox as a browser most of the time and battery life was really good, but not as much as Apple claimed. Still, it’s probably one of the most efficient devices that I ever had.

Portability

Have you ever expected a computer that you could use from a battery pack? And yet that happened and we indeed got a computer with incredible efficiency.

I’m traveling extensively and knowing that I can bring a battery pack, portable solar panel and my mobile phone to get connected almost anywhere is a quite refreshing feeling.

I am not as worried as before and no longer rely on coffee shops and other places to charge my laptop. Yes, it’s a…

--

--

Dmitry Yarygin
The Shadow

Nomad lifestyle writer. Passionate about breaking software— QA Engineer. My Travel & Tech YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/nomadicdmitry