Elizabeth Holmes: A Monster Within

My life in the shadow of Silicon Valley’s “best and brightest”

Rivka Wolf
The Shadow

--

https://cdn.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/wrw2U4C5X_Phan5LrIP33-wt1z8=/1400x1050/filters:format(jpeg)/cdn.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_asset/file/15799985/elizabeth-holmes11.0.1487522957.jpg

I grew up in the shadow of Silicon Valley. Ten years into my short life, I watched the hills near my house disappear overnight beneath the wave of McMansions built to accommodate the influx of new money. I felt pushed further and further to the margins of my own childhood experience as a new breed of rich, savvy social climbers flooded my school. The girls were beautiful, polished, incredibly intimidating.

I still remember their uniform.

Hair: Blonde. Real was best. Dyed would work. Bleached was gross, but acceptable in a pinch.

Eyes: Blue, ideally. Colored contacts would serve. Middle school was not too young to start putting your best foot forward by faking your eye color.

Nose: Start planning for your nose job today!

Shopping: Limited Too, until seventh grade when it switched to The Limited.

Outfit: Short black skirt, sleeveless turtleneck top in winter, switch to spaghetti strap top in summer. Platform tennis shoes then platform sandals.

Some were born to popularity. They lived in houses with enough room to accommodate two or three of our house. They lived in gated communities, had house maids and…

--

--