Finding Roberta

Meshell Baylor
The Shadow
Published in
7 min readFeb 18, 2021

--

Roberta Burns Born May 6, 1913 records archived from U.S Census

It was a hot Wednesday evening, and I chose to visit my mom’s home as I do regularly, I get up every morning to visit her home and get her input; we call it grasping pearls of wisdom. I entered my mom’s home smelling the charming aroma of lemon and pine fill the air as she plans supper which is chicken and dumplings. I watched my mom cook and clean the dishes tuning on the sounds of Booker T and MGS’s Green Onions. I generally start the discussion by calling her by her first name “What are you doing Ms. Mary?” Watching my mom dance has consistently been the highlight of my day, I kept on watching her tap her feet and dancing.

Mother kept on moving right to the love seat and plunked down to pause and rest; I notice how she moves her hands when she’s thinking, so I kissed her on the cheek. I love to smell the fragrance that waits when she turns or pushes to prevent me from kissing her. She put both of her hands on the cheeks of my face and said: “You’re extremely honored to know your mother’s birthday.” For a second, I thought what an odd thing to say, yet she said it once more “You’re exceptionally honored to know your mother’s birthday, the littlest things can mean so much.” I sat and tuned in to her talk about her mom Ms. Roberta Burns her mom that passed away years ago to breast cancer in 1973. We never spoke of Ms. Roberta due to how she passed from cancer, it was not the best story to hear because her mother suffered.

My mom started to say that her mom Roberta didn’t have any acquaintance with her own birthday, yet she talked exceptionally of Pulaski Arkansas. Pulaski Arkansas was the place where she was brought up however had uncommonly little to go off. Roberta never knew her folks; she just talked about a spot called College Station. I observed how my mom’s face gradually changed from satisfaction to pity so I embraced her and disclosed to her that I would give a valiant effort to check whether I could discover something on Roberta. I decided not to guarantee my mom that I would discover all that she needed to know about her mother since her mother was conceived around 1910 or 1912 and I couldn’t say whether birth records went that far back. I cleaned away her tears turned around up Green Onions and started to make her giggle.

I returned home set for search all that I could discover about Ms. Roberta Burns. I definitely knew her passing, however her introduction to the world was an incredible secret. I started to contact the State of Arkansas’ lobby of records and talked with a lady named Debra from the office. Debra stated some home birth records were not recorded around that time, harking back to the 1900’s, however she recommended that I explore the evaluation report, look at web locales like familysearch.com or ancestry.com. I was frantic to discover what befallen Roberta and how she was conceived, it turned into a secret that I needed to settle for my mom as well as for me also. I started to google the word College Station and more data on Pulaski Arkansas I explored the historical backdrop of blacks in Arkansas around the 1900’s and how an obscure child might have made due during that time.

I started to figure how a child with no openly available reports could endure and grow up uninformed of her birthday. Roberta’s life developed into this secret, this incredible huge opening that was missing and I turned out to be so captivated with recovering an answer that I was unable to turn back. The investigated proceeded as dissatisfaction crawled into my musings until a name showed up close to Roberta’s in the family information base the name was McNeil. This obscure name McNeil was connected to my grandmas with the title farmworker. This new name I have never known about shadowing Roberta’s that I had never seen. I started to call the State of Arkansas again and search on the web and glance through old Census records this name McNeil for what reason is it close to my grandma’s name in this Census Report.

I started to go on Family Search searching for more data on Ms. Roberta Burns and returned with “McNeil,” this name close to Roberta kept springing up “McNeil” hiding under the family individuals Census Report where my grandma’s name and date of birth waited. Unexpectedly I started to feel lost, so I returned over to my mom’s home to talk with her somewhat more about what other data her mom enlightened her regarding her adolescence. I’d stroll into my mother’s home and smell the aroma of lemon and pine filled the air. I plunked down again and got some information about Ms. Roberta Burns. My mother said to me “She would consistently talk about Pulaski, College Stations and the McNeil’s.” I asked my mom who was the McNeil’s and what was their association with Roberta? My mom started to reveal to me that she accepted they were a thoughtful family who cared for her.

I ran home to get back on the PC going to the FamilySearch and tied in the names Roberta Burns, her date of birth going from 1910–1914 and the name “McNeil’s.” I tied in Ms. Roberta’s season of death to pinpoint each piece that could get when she conceived, who raised her and how she passed on. The Census report demonstrated a lady by the name of Jane McNeil a previous Mulatto slave who bought a permanent home for her family. Her eldest son Thomas a mulatto, sharecropper who had six kids and a granddaughter living inside the home. Thomas granddaughter name was Roberta B. who was born 1913 lived with her aunts and uncles who were little kids inside the home. As I looked, I started to consider how enormous or little this house was to house a particularly large family and care for a small kid who was essentially a child as indicated by the Census Report. My eyes looked at the report perusing the word Mulatto and these recognizable names of the children .

I started to think about my mother and how startling it must have been not to know the slightest bit about your mom or her family. I would focus on the expression that my mother would say to me “Can’t realize where you’re going except if you know where you came from.” I never comprehended it’s importance until this exact second punching in information data searching for a more unusual that I called my grandma. At that point an email from the State of Arkansas and a connection associates the appropriate responses like missing pieces to a riddle glancing back at me from a screen.

I started to survey the data one final time tapping on the connections from the United States Census and the email that the Register-Recorder shipped off me when something stunning showed up with data that gave me full affirmation that I found the individual I was searching for. I headed to my closest store to purchase printing paper and a Mother’s Day card for my mother. I realized it was not Mother’s Day, however I wanted to give her a card alongside the important data that I found to put within the card. I thought about the stories my mom spoke of when she talked about Roberta how she kept a spotless home, dedicated lady who iron sheets and prepared sweet bread from scratch.

I printed out the data and collapsed it conveniently into a Mother’s Day card and started to stroll over to my mother’s home. While strolling through the area, I kept on gazing at the words on the front of the Mother’s Day card that said “There is no relationship more profound or better than one between a mother and her child …. It is an affection that challenges depiction and delight that endure forever. Happy Mother’s Day”. Ms. Roberta didn’t have education, however she worked at a convalescent home caring for the sick. Each point, corner, and the section of my mom’s ancestry enclosed by the makings of Ms. Roberta I told my mom that I, value all that she has done for me and all the love she has given me. I gave her the hallmark card and told her “Momma I discovered Ms. Roberta for you”.

I start to present the account of Ms. Roberta to my mom gradually so she can comprehend where she came from. I grabbed her hand and started to disclose to her a story, Ms. Roberta Burns was born May 6, 1913, she was a child when her natural dad Marshall Burns gave her Mr. Thomas McNeil in Badgett Pulaski Arkansas. Ms. Roberta’s granddad a sharecropper name was Thomas McNeil. Mr. McNeil raised her alongside six kids who were Ms. Roberta’s aunts and uncles whom she named every one of her kids after.

I keep on completing the tale about Ms. Roberta Burns and how the little recollections that she gave my mother played a critical part in looking through her experience. I assisted my mom with coming to an obvious conclusion of Ms. Roberta; The evaluation report had recorded Ms. Roberta living with her granddad Thomas McNeil a tenant farmer with Ms. Roberta’s distant grandma, mortgage holder, and previous slave mulatto Janie McNeil brought into the world 1825.

I informed her concerning her distant grandma Janie McNeil who was a previous slave was liberated after the common war finished December sixth, 1865, after the thirteenth Amendment was executed to the Constitution which finished the act of bondage. Slaves were allowed to buy land to settle on their choices with their family, so Jane McNeil worked alongside her son Thomas as a rancher to really focus on Ms. Roberta and all the kids in the house as per Census. I stayed there and watched tears run down my mom’s face as she embraced me. Ms. Mary inclined in to kiss me and said: “Thank you, Shell, you don’t have a clue how much this means to me, you discovered my momma.” Momma took the papers that I gave her snatched a blossom picture collection off her rack and set the administrative work inside the book close to her mom’s Obituary. I got up and went into her room set Booker T and MGS’s compact disc into the player and put on Green Onions.

.

--

--

Meshell Baylor
The Shadow

Children's book author of I'm A Little Big Brother & Simon's Voice Autism advocate, Supermom, Columnist for Exceptional Needs Today I DO IT ALL!