Home Networking in Your Apartment Made Easy

Clement Hoang
The Shadow
Published in
4 min readMar 7, 2021

--

For most people, home networking is as simple as connecting their modem to their Wi-Fi router, and then following some basic router setup instructions. Then, all the devices in their home can access the Internet via the Wi-Fi network that they set up. Hurrah! End of story. 🎉

The classic network setup (Service In -> Wireless Router -> Devices)

However, such a simple setup may not always be ideal. This was the case with me recently since the quarantine began and I moved to a new apartment. I purchased Google Fiber’s Webpass internet and although the classic Wi-Fi setup I described above worked for a while, I quickly started to feel frustrated by the limitations of Wi-Fi, and desired the full capabilities of the gigabit internet that I am paying for. This was exacerbated by the packet loss I experienced while I was gaming, one of the remaining enablers on my sanity in this day and age.

So… I decided to get my hands dirty one night and after a grueling session of experimentation, I succeeded in a setup that allowed me to use the ethernet ports in my room while we had a wireless access point as well.

Looking back, this is actually a fairly simple setup, but without much prior networking knowledge, what I saw when I opened my telecommunications closet (I didn’t even know what this was called previously 😅) can only be described as a monstrosity.

--

--

Clement Hoang
The Shadow

Previously worked on React at Facebook and UWaterloo alumnus. Current engineer at Credit Karma. Learn about me on clementhoang.net.