How To Learn a Foreign Language Quickly

Five really easy ways to become fluent in a foreign language as quickly as possible.

Maria Martins
The Shadow

--

Photo by Gabby K from Pexels

I’ve been obsessed with languages from a young age, but I was by no means gifted in learning them. Some people just have a natural ear for it, and others no matter how hard they try, just can’t seem to grasp a new language.

But all is not lost!

On my quest to become fluent in multiple languages such as Spanish and Japanese, I realized that for the most part, we aren’t learning them the right way to truly maximise our potential to learn.

I picked up five really easy ways that will assist you in becoming fluent as quickly as possible:

1. Turn everything in your settings into the foreign language you are learning.

I’m talking about your iPhone, all your apps, your laptop… the radio/news you listen to. Everything that you have the power to change, do it. It will force you to understand the language. My phone is in Spanish at the moment and I have to translate text all the time, for example whenever an important notification pops up.

I know it can get annoying but trust me, it is very helpful.

2. Watch

--

--

Maria Martins
The Shadow

Eternal optimist, writer and unofficial therapist to my friends. I love sharing advice and aspects about my life.