I’m Asian and My White Mom Doesn’t Understand the Racism I Face.

Your Other Dad says she needs to learn about the physical toll of microaggressions.

David Valdes
The Shadow
Published in
5 min readApr 5, 2021

--

Photo: Ike Louie for Pexels.

Dear Other Dad,

I live on the East coast with my white family but I am adopted from Asia. Having a conversation with my mom in particular about race has become increasingly more difficult and she doesn’t understand/believe me when I tell her something racist has happened to me because her definition of racism is not up to date.

I want her to understand how her views are not very understanding of my experience or that of other POC in the US but it is very hard to do that. It’s really important though because racism affects me personally. How do we talk about this without an argument starting?

Thank you so much,

— Serenity Rose

--

--

David Valdes
The Shadow

David Valdes is a Cuban-American author who writes about family, race, and LGBTQ issues. His book Brighter than the Moon releases in January 2023.