Humor

iPhone Updates Make my Brain Hurt

And it’s not just because I’m old

Wendy Scott
The Shadow
Published in
4 min readFeb 15, 2021

--

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Modern technology does my head in. When I was growing up, the most we had to do was turn the TV on and use a manual dial on the wall to switch between four channels.

BBC1, BBC2, ITV, and Southern. That was it.

If the TV went wrong, my mum got the Rediffusion repairman in to fix it. Mind you, she had to walk down to the Rediffusion office as we didn’t have a phone.

We didn’t have a washing machine, dryer, or microwave either. We had the TV, the Hoover, a record player, and radio. They hardly ever went wrong.

“We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works.” — Douglas Adams, The Salmon of Doubt.

These days, I spend an awful lot of time fixing time-saving devices. Especially when they need an upgrade. To be clear, I love my iThings. My iWatch is incredible, and I’m an Apple fan through and through.

But the fuss and bother it takes to keep everything synced, and up-to-date drives me insane.

For example, at the moment, my iWatch is on its charger. There was an update about six weeks ago, which meant my iWatch could no longer talk to my iPhone. Since then, my watch has been no more than a…

--

--

Wendy Scott
The Shadow

L&D professional writing practical, step-by-step leadership and training & development articles to help leaders, managers & trainers grow their careers.