Change Your Life and Write It Down

Evan Deubner
The Shadow
Published in
5 min readApr 22, 2021

--

Find something you love doing and do it

Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

Don’t wait for inspiration or aspire to perfection. Be patient, original, and honest. Don’t do it for money or fame. Do it for yourself and let it define you.

Find something you love doing . . .

This is difficult no matter who you are. You’ll always second guess yourself even if you’re a master of your craft. Which is why I feel it’s important to find your passion as soon as possible. I found my passion for Music when I was eighteen. I’m far from prodigious so I’ve spent thousands of hours learning my craft.

If you’re still unsure about your passion and you find yourself jumping between different things trying to find a spark of creativity, my suggestion is to just pick one. You can’t force inspiration and each failed attempt will demoralize you even more.

If you were born a prodigy and can play piano perfectly but hate Music, don’t force yourself to keep doing it just because you’re really good. If there is something else you love then I say go for it. This doesn’t mean you have to stop playing piano. That could be your job.

. . . and do it as much as you can.

Start putting time into your passion whenever possible. This could be a fifteen hour…

--

--

Evan Deubner
The Shadow

Striving to achieve impossible things, because impossible things are all I have left to achieve