The Dominos Effect

Faris
The Shadow
Published in
6 min readMar 5, 2021

--

Is Dominos a pizza company, a tech company or a delivery company?

Snacking on some television over the pandemic I experienced a pleasing shock of recognition when I noticed that Dominos was using an insight my wife had spontaneously expressed a few days before. We have mostly been cooking this pandemic, which is great but, like anything, gets boring when it is the only choice you have. Nothing is the best thing when it’s the only thing.

We began to cautiously order some ‘date night’ meals from well-regarded establishments in whatever city we were in. They were disappointing, and Rosie pointed out that even good restaurant meals end up being merely ‘premium mediocre’ once they get to your dining table.

“Why do you think delivery pizza is a thing?” I said, stroking my beard obnoxiously. Pizza is ‘delivery stable’.

VO: “What does Dominos know about tacos and burgers? As delivery experts [my italics] we know they shouldn’t be delivered like this!”

Cue social media shots of terrible looking burgers and tacos that were delivered. Announce new taco and cheeseburger pizzas thorough surprise and delight. Cue footage of pizzas delivered to previously disappointed fast food customers.

‘Designed to be Delivered’

--

--

Faris
The Shadow

Hello! I'm Faris. I'm looking for the awesome. Founder/Genius Steals. Itinerant Strategist//Speaker. Author of Paid Attention.