Depression by Ivangatt

Not Enough

Chris Carter
The Shalom Sentinel

--

Most times I think

I am not enough,

Because this is what

I have learned in life

Too many times to count.

And why do I dream,

Hope that one day

It will be different?

My experience

Doesn’t bare that out.

And that cliche,

Life is what you

Make it?

Why don’t they tell you,

If you touch it,

You destroy it,

If you leave it alone,

It destroys you?

You may think I’m jaded,

My son asked what that

Word meant.

Conclusion:

Everybody that has lived

Is jaded.

The stars don’t shine

The same as when

You first saw them,

Breath gets heavier,

Your Thoughts

Are soaked in sadness.

What is there to dream of,

That will be different

Than, better than

What came before?

Everywhere you go you

Take yourself,

And you are not

As special or unique

As you once imagined.

--

--

Chris Carter
The Shalom Sentinel

Started writing poetry when she was a teenager. She is a writer for Mustard Seed Sentinel, and her column Diary of a Prodigal Daughter is published monthly.