October Is Pregnancy And Infant Loss Awareness Month

Aniyah
The Shalom Sentinel
2 min readOct 30, 2023

The silent cries that goes unnoticed

Photo by Andraz Lazic on Unsplash

I still remember the day I found out I was carrying you. You were the child I longed for. I carried you for ten weeks. I noticed I didn’t have any morning sickness. It went pretty normal, so in my mind, I'm thinking, wow, this will be a breeze. Only to find out it wouldn’t be.

I lost that child at ten weeks. The desired baby went away, and I couldn’t understand why. I heard different reactions from people who didn’t know what to say. I shook my head and nodded, but inside, a part of me left with the baby.

How long is someone allowed to grieve? One day? A month? For the rest of my life? For me, I still weep because that child was a part of me. I didn’t know the gender, so Kidney was the given name because thats what the baby looked like.

I share this because I still honor my time with that child. Miscarriage happens; however, it is something I had to go through. Some people are cold about it. It is like the attitude, oh well, it happens. Yes, even though many go on to have more children, silent tears still occur occasionally. So, to you, moms and dads who may be suffering from pregnancy or infant loss, know I see and understand you. I was there in your shoes, and I walked silently with you. It’s never easy, but we strive daily, hoping one day we will see what that child could have been. Rest easy, Kidney. Love Always Mommy🙏🏽.

--

--

Aniyah
The Shalom Sentinel

I believe writing can heal the soul from emotional trauma