Publishing My Work Publicly Has Benefits and Drawbacks

Aniyah
The Shalom Sentinel
3 min readSep 18, 2023

A question I was asked🙂

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Question: As someone who is a writer, what do you think the benefits/drawbacks of publishing your work publicly are?

2023 was a year of growth for me. I have written a book that I offered for free; I started WordPress and started to become bolder in my speech. However, becoming more fearless in speech has put me on the table of criticism, which I have been nervous about. People can be cruel in their judgment against others’ perspectives. To me, I think that’s strange. I could say that because I used to be that person. How dare I get mad at someone’s opinion because it didn’t agree with my thought process?

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

There was a fear of bringing forth my pieces. But something started to happen inside me where a fire was lit, and I couldn’t stay quiet anymore. This fire in me has caused me to step out and take criticism and add it to my growth. Constructive criticism is an excellent addition to my overall development. Just be nice about it. It’s easy to become defensive when hearing someone give pushback, but it helps. Sometimes, speaking out doesn’t feel good because it can hurt. However, this is where my ego has to die and accept that just because someone said something to me, it doesn’t mean that I have to stop going forth. I could block you, lol. No, I won’t do that, though, because then I will never grow.

Photo by Darius on Unsplash

This fire in me is speaking up like never before. I am cautious in what I speak online because I don’t want to jeopardize my name or someone twisting my words. People have done that to others. Social media can be a scary place, so I’m careful. So far, I have had great support from my online support groups. They have encouraged me to keep going forward even on the hard days. And trust me, my days have been hard. I believe there is a purpose that this fire has been lit, so I’m going to take it and run with it, and I think whoever reads my work will grow in life and be encouraged and strengthened by what I write. I will be open to feedback and allow it to help me so that I can do better. So cheers to positive and negative feedback (just be nice about it)😉🎉

--

--

Aniyah
The Shalom Sentinel

I believe writing can heal the soul from emotional trauma