The Beauty In Silence

How it can help with a brain reset.

Aniyah
The Shalom Sentinel
2 min readDec 18, 2023

--

Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

Alot of times, I talk alot. I always enjoyed talking because I like to interact with people. As a child, I was very hesitant because I had a terrible stutter. Plus, I would have to feel people out before bringing up a conversation. It’s like an instinct thing, I guess.

I also had self-confidence issues due to my speech impediment. But that never stopped the desire to talk to people. However, as I’m getting older, there is a call for me to go silent. It’s the season, and it’s time to listen for direction. And sometimes, this quiet phase can cause tension with those who are used to hearing my voice. Practicing silence has helped my brain be at peace. I guess this is my hibernation season – a time to retreat inward.

While being silent may bring peace, it does hurt simultaneously because I can hear things more clearly, and sometimes, hearing tones that I don’t like is much louder, if that makes sense.

So, as I go through this phase in life, I will fly with the flow of the breeze and listen to the sound of the wind, and may it lead me to the direction I am supposed to go.🫶🏾🙏🏽

--

--

Aniyah
The Shalom Sentinel

I believe writing can heal the soul from emotional trauma