The Other

Aniyah
The Shalom Sentinel
1 min readOct 2, 2023

The Heart Always Knew- A short poem

Photo by Kimson Doan on Unsplash

She always knew that the heart didn’t belong to her only

It was always compared to another secretly

However, she knew the heart would light up when the other spoke

How the heart would laugh at the corniest jokes

How the heart would say, speak like the other

That heart is like no other

I feel I could never be that heart

I always knew from the start

That I could never beat that heart

I would never be compared

To the love you both shared

I always new that our hearts would compete

Because it’s the other heart that is seeked

So her heart always wonders

Will hers ever be good enough?

Will her life always be tough?

So she sits and wait

As she watches their fate

Unlocking through every word

As she slashes hearts with her swords

How great thou art, they say

If they only knew that one day

The other heart will pay…🙏🏽

--

--

Aniyah
The Shalom Sentinel

I believe writing can heal the soul from emotional trauma