Congratulations — You’ve Leveled Up

Ever wondered what the next gaming level will bring?

Lynda Coker
Fiction for the Heart by Lynda Coker
3 min readOct 7, 2020

--

“Danny…” Christy stammered. “Have you noticed anything weird or out of place lately?”

His head jerked in her direction and the wild gleam in his eyes gave her the answer she dreaded.

“Yeah, you too?”

“Just little things, but too many of them to be ignored. My nail polish has all become one shade of grey. And when I pulled the milk out of the refrigerator this morning, it was pineapple flavored. What’s with that?”

“I don’t know, Christy,” he said. “But we better get to our coding class before the professor marks us absent.”

They entered the Tech Building and stood in front of their classroom door. Christy gripped Danny’s hand and stepped closer to his side. “How come our classroom is three doors down from the entrance? It’s always been the first room on the right.”

Danny patted her shoulder. “It’s going to be okay. I think it’s time to start asking some questions, don’t you?”

“I’m not up for that yet. Let’s skip classes today and just look around, see what else is happening.”

They drove by the doughnut shop, grabbed some breakfast, and headed for the riverside park without any more freakiness.

--

--

Lynda Coker
Fiction for the Heart by Lynda Coker

I write about life, fictional worlds, and anything that catches my interest. I also design and create with textiles. Icky Chic Desings on Etsy