Texas Heat — Chapter 7

A thin line runs between betrayal and sacrifice. Figuring out the difference could cost a man his heart.

Lynda Coker
Fiction for the Heart by Lynda Coker
5 min readJul 25, 2021

--

http://bit.ly/2IiZTtV (Original photo has been altered in size and text)

“So, did you buy the old Tucker place, Corey?” Tiffany asked. “The improvements you’re making look good, especially that new front porch.”

“Yeah, I fell through the steps on the old porch the first day, decided I’d better start there if I didn’t want a broken leg.”

“Did you know that it borders Texas Glory?”

Photo by Adam Kring on Unsplash

“I didn’t think your Daddy’s land reached over to the Tucker place.”

“It didn’t when you lived here before. Over the years, the new owners added tracts of land to the original spread as they came on the market. It’s about a twenty thousand acre package now.”

“What made your daddy give up that place? It was his private kingdom.”

“Yes, well, he didn’t have a choice. He got into a bit of a jam and needed the cash, so he sold it to…”

“Mom,” the boy interrupted his mother. “Bobby Owens is over there with his family. You care if I go say hi?”

--

--

Lynda Coker
Fiction for the Heart by Lynda Coker

I write about life, fictional worlds, and anything that catches my interest. I also design and create with textiles. Icky Chic Desings on Etsy