Short Fiction

The Other Side

Short Story: A thoughtless girl pushes the limits of belief too far

Lynda Coker
Fiction for the Heart by Lynda Coker
7 min readSep 25, 2021

--

Photo by Oleh Morhun on Unsplash

He crossed the last two moss-covered stones at the edge of the wide creek and planted his feet on the solid earthen bank. Shivering from the effects of his clumsiness and subsequent dunking, he did what he could to shake the water from his clothes. The dawn’s amber light slashed through the forest’s canopy and pooled around him, exposing him to further humiliation as he swiped at the frigid water dripping from his hair.

“Trayjan, you are the most inept boy of my acquaintance. Why did I choose to share my adventures with one of so few skills…Oh well, it can’t be helped. Please try to keep your footing. If you fall into the water again you’ll surely freeze before we reach the cave and I’ll have to waste my afternoon burying you.”

Her laughter, as she extolled his incompetence to every woodland creature, filled his soul with a deeper chill, one that penetrated his heart.

Princess Veela, the youngest daughter of King Ryman of Chylar, jumped easily over the moss-covered stones traversing the wide stream, bounding safely up the slope to stand with imperial impatience.

Trayjan followed with measured steps, wondering how he was going to manage the next hour without…

--

--

Lynda Coker
Fiction for the Heart by Lynda Coker

I write about life, fictional worlds, and anything that catches my interest. I also design and create with textiles. Icky Chic Desings on Etsy