Portions for Turbofoxes: Megatron and Jenny Lewis vs Starscream and Blake Sennett

Ryland Duncan
THE SHOCKER
Published in
9 min readAug 8, 2018

Megatron and Jenny Lewis need only meet to become best friends. He’s a 4 million-year old political radical turned genocidal tyrant turned pacifist explorer monk; she’s the greatest living singer-songwriter, the voice of a generation, and happens to collect elderly men like they was pocket monsters. They both have their own personal Salieris in Starscream and Blake Sennett, they both have ever-changing but nonetheless iconic looks, and both of them have to take time away somewhere new to figure out their next phase. It is only natural that they would begin this next phase in a luxury apartment in San Diego on loan to them from their mutual friend Ringo Starr. The script below is not a work of fiction, friends. It is a prophecy of the world to come.

INT. LUXURY APARTMENT

JENNY is practicing a new song on her guitar.

JENNY
(Singing)
And you think you’re going to
heaven...and that I am going to
hell...and that I’m gonna keep on
dancing ’till I hear that ringing
bell...BUHHH gonna roll...

She smashes her guitar and throws it on top of a pile of
smashed guitars in the corner.

JENNY (cont’d)

Dang it, what’s gonna roll?

Bananas? No, their shape isn’t

right for it. Cars? No, too

obvious!

MEGATRON walks in.

JENNY (cont’d)

Megs!

MEGATRON

Did you fight...eight guitars?

JENNY

They started it. How was the San

Diego DSA meeting?

MEGATRON
FRUSTRATING. I can certainly see
where they’re coming from. When I
started the Decepticon movement I
was just a miner working month-long
shifts in the nucleon mines of
Tarn. I assumed they would be able
to identify with my struggle and I
with theirs, but when I told them
how I executed the Senate and
overthrew the Functionists, they
all just laughed and told me to go
on Chapo.

JENNY

You gotta understand, human

political action is usually less

direct, our bodies are a lot easier

to break.

MEGATRON

If they wanted me to I could

obliterate all the banks right now.

He slaps the fusion cannon on his arm.

MEGATRON

What do they think this is, a

telescope? Sorry, I came in fuming

with a whole thing, how are you?

JENNY

Oh I’m okay. Having some mad

wretched writer’s block.

MEGATRON

I think you and I are both in need

of...relaxation.

JENNY
Just an hour or two where we
don’t...think, we can just BE.

They inch closer together.

JENNY

I think I’m ready...

MEGATRON

As am I. ACTIVATE THE MONK ENGINE.

JENNY

I think the controller must be

under the couch somewhere...

She looks under the couch.

JENNY

What the heck?

MEGATRON

Jenny, the entire console is

missing.

JENNY
What?! If we don’t have our
PlayStation 4, how are we going to
access Monk and dozens of other
streaming favorites on Amazon
Prime?

MEGATRON

I have had a long day and demand to

be whisked away to a gentle yet

murderous version of San Francisco.

JENNY

Do you know anybody who can, you

know...

MEGATRON

Turn into a PlayStation 4?

Regrettably, no.

JENNY

Who would steal from us, two cuties

who have never done anything wrong?

MEGATRON

Do you hear that?

He puts his ear to the ground.

MEGATRON

It is the song of Monk himself.

JENNY

But how could those guys afford

streaming content? They suck eggs!

INT. HALLWAY

Jenny and Megatron stand outside a door. Megatron knocks
lightly. No response. Jenny kicks the door down, revealing BLAKE SENNETT and STARSCREAM watching Monk on a little TV.

INT. BLAKE AND STARSCREAM’S APARTMENT

BLAKE
Oh hey guys.

Jenny and Megatron walk in, it’s a mess of dirty laundry and
half eaten energon cubes.

JENNY

What the hell, guys?

STARSCREAM

A pleasure to see you as well,

Jennifer.

MEGATRON

Do not hide, as you always do,

behind words and trickery. Return

what is ours and we will leave

peacefully.

BLAKE

We’re just watching some dumb show

that we don’t even like. You guys

can stay if you want? Like I guess

it would be ok if we all hung out,

and I ordered a family style KFC

bucket in Postmates.

JENNY

We know you guys can’t afford

luxuries like a PS4.

BLAKE

Having not sold out, no, we can’t.

’Twas a gift from one of my many

fans.

Megatron charges up his fusion cannon.

MEGATRON

The Night Terrors of 1927 do not

have fans!

JENNY

Hey, hey. He could be talking about

The Elected.

STARSCREAM

No, it was a Night Terrors of 1927

fan. She had normal hair and a lot

of clothes.

BLAKE

She proposed to me but I’m a volcel

now so it would never work out. The

PS4 was her parting gift.

JENNY

What was her name?

BLAKE

I would be happy to tell you her

name.

STARSCREAM

Telling you her name would be free

and easy.

BLAKE
And the name of her was of course
Gina.

STARSCREAM

Corn.

BLAKE

Gina Corn.

STARSCREAM

I’ll call her on the phone RIGHT

NOW if you want.

JENNY

That’s fine. No problem. Hope you

guys have fun watching Monk.

BLAKE

We’ll try, the main actor is really

bad.

Megatron fires at Starscream, clipping his right wing.

MEGATRON
If you disrespect Tony Shalhoub again I will peel you both like apples.

Jenny and Megatron leave.

INT. LUXURY APARTMENT, LATER

There is a knock on the door. Megatron opens the door and
Starscream enters.

STARSCREAM

Where are my hands?!

MEGATRON

Hm?

Starscream waves his stump arms angrily.

STARSCREAM

My hands! Have been! STOLEN!

We pan to Jenny, sitting on a couch clearly made of
Starscream’s hands.

JENNY
Wow. That’s rough.

MEGATRON

Perhaps it was Gina Corn. I hear

she has a criminal record.

JENNY

That’s probably why she was

interested in Blake. She just

wanted to get close enough to steal

your hands.

STARSCREAM
Gina Corn isn’t—

They stare at him.

STARSCREAM (cont’d)
—the kind of person who would do
this!

Jenny puts her hand on Starscream’s stump.

JENNY
If I’ve learned anything from Monk,
it’s that anyone can commit a crime
with the right motive.

Starscream walks out like a pissy little lord.

INT. BLAKE AND STARSCREAM’S APARTMENT

A knock on the door. Starscream, who now has hands made out
of a bunch of barbecue tongs held together with bungee
cords, opens it to reveal Megatron, whose signature helmet
is gone. His metal hair is a beautiful red pompadour. Jenny
is sitting on his shoulder like a parrot.

JENNY
We were even. Blood for blood. Does
escalating a conflict with a man
famous for waging a four million
year long war and the writer of “My
Pet Snakes” seem wise to you?

STARSCREAM
Why, I have no idea what you’re
talking about!

MEGATRON

Return my helmet before one of us

ends up turning this planet into an

irradiated hellscape.

STARSCREAM

Blake, have we seen a helmet

anywhere?

We pan to Blake, taking a bath in Megatron’s helmet.

BLAKE
Nah man, we’re not really hat guys.

MEGATRON
What have you done?

BLAKE

Anybody wanna get in here with me?

I’m about to turn the jets on.

JENNY
Man, Megatron’s husband gave him
that helmet.

Megatron sheds a single tear.

MEGATRON

Terminus...

JENNY

I hope you’re proud of yourselves.

They leave.

INT. LUXURIOUS APARTMENT

Megatron and Jenny are playing twister when Blake storms in.

BLAKE

Over a helmet?!

He throws a chair at Megatron.

BLAKE (cont’d)

Are we nothing to you? Does it not

enter into your mind that our lives

are real, that they matter?

JENNY

Dude, what’s up?

BLAKE

MY PARENTS WERE INCINERATED, JENNY.

JENNY

What?

BLAKE

Over a PlayStation 4. And a helmet.

Both of which can be replaced! Did

you...did you help him, Jenny?

MEGATRON

Blake, I’m sorry, I had nothing to

do with this.

BLAKE

I DO NOT HAVE TIME FOR COY BULLSHIT
RIGHT NOW.

JENNY
Blake, we’ve been playing twister
all day on our very popular Twitch
stream.

MEGATRON

Blake, I’m so sorry.

BLAKE

Who...who incinerated my parents...

Megatron scoops Blake up into his hand and pets him as you
might a nervous dog.

MEGATRON

Time is merciless and takes

everything from us, but take heart

in knowing that it does not

discriminate. It will take your

pain as well.

JENNY
Now, I really hate to do this, but
our Twitch subscribers are paying
for genial banter and surprising
displays of flexibility and I don’t
think that’s something you can
offer us or them right now.

Megatron sets Blake down outside.

INT. BURGER KING

Jenny and Megatron are looking at the menu. Megatron is
wearing a new helmet with a slightly sportier cut to communicate that he is ready for romance again.

JENNY
This is just the thing to get my
mind off my intolerably whack
writer’s block, great idea.

MEGATRON
What are you going to get?

JENNY

I think I’m gonna get that long

chicken sandwich. You ever had

that?

MEGATRON

No.

JENNY
It’s like, maybe this is just me, but
it’s like eating the feeling of
being 12 years old and hanging out
in a parking lot and thinking it’s
really fucking cool. That’ll fix me good.
What are you gonna get?

MEGATRON

Do they have energon?

JENNY

What’s energon?

MEGATRON
What’s — Jenny, I only eat energon.
It comes in liquid and cube forms.

JENNY

Oh is that the glowing jello in the

fridge?

MEGATRON

Yes.

JENNY

You should get an icee, it’s kind

of a similar deal.

Starscream walks up to them with a stack of fliers.

STARSCREAM
Oh heyyyy guys what’s uuuuup?

JENNY

Just gettin’ ready to burg down,

what about you?

STARSCREAM

Ohhhh not muuuch, just passing out

fliers for me and Blake’s baaaand.

MEGATRON

You guys started a band?

STARSCREAM
Yeah, the other guys in the Night
Terrors of 1927 joined the coast
guard so me and Blake have a duo
now.

JENNY

What venue would have you two

kuh-nuckle heads?

STARSCREAM

Why, none other than the San Diego

Zoo!!

He hands her and Megatron fliers.

MEGATRON

Broken Tractor?

STARSCREAM

I suggested Blake and Starscream’s

Rock and Roll Band but apparently

that was too "on the nose." You

know creative types. But we’re

really, we’re sorry this whole

thing with the pranks got so out of

hand. I’ll put you on the guest

list. If you want to come, love to

see ya, if not, totally get it. You

two have a good day. You

have...such a good day.

Starscream walks away to hand out more fliers.

JENNY

Hmmm.

MEGATRON

Hmmm.

INT. BLAKE AND STARSCREAM’S APARTMENT

Jenny and Megatron enter, laughing.

MEGATRON

A tactical blunder only Starscream

could make, letting us know exactly

when they’d be out of the house.

Activate the Monk Engine!

Jenny turns on the PS4. She clicks around.

JENNY
Uhhh… Megatron, the Amazon Prime app
is gone.

MEGATRON

What?!

JENNY
Yeah, it looks like they deleted
everything to make room for video
games.

MEGATRON

Video what?

JENNY

I’m sorry, dude.

MEGATRON

I have lost so much in this life.

You would think I would be used to

it.

JENNY

We will have vengeance, friend. And

I think I know just what to do...

INT. SAN DIEGO ZOO
Jenny and Megatron, dressed as zookeepers with big Italian mustaches, walk toward a big stage.

JENNY

Do it.

Megatron melts a metal gate with his fusion cannon and
quickly forges the molten iron into two crosses and a set of nails. Jenny aims a weighted net launcher at the stage.

BLAKE

We are Broken Tractor, and this, my

children...is rock and roll the way

it’s meant to be played!!

Blake and Starscream start playing music that sounds the way
a divorced dad looks. The crowd goes wild!

MEGATRON

Can you get a clear shot? There’s

so many dweebs in the crowd...

JENNY

Maybe I was wrong...

MEGATRON

What do you mean?

JENNY

I mean, look at how much fun all

those dweebs are having. If we took

this away, wouldn’t we be just like

Blake and Starscream taking Monk

away from us?

MEGATRON

To stay your hand when vengeance is

this close...it is admirable.

JENNY
Don’t get too teary-eyed. I have a
plan for revenge that’s a little more
private.

EXT. HALLWAY

Jenny and Megatron stand outside Blake and Starscream’s
apartment.

BLAKE

Oh, hey guys.

JENNY

How was the show?

STARSCREAM

Oh, so fun!

MEGATRON

We were there at the start but we

left after we decided not to

crucify you.

STARSCREAM
…Thank you?

BLAKE

I’m glad we can put all this

nastiness behind us. It was really

awful of us to steal your PS4. So,

to make up for it, me and

Starscream picked this up on the

way home.

Blake hands them a box. Megatron unwraps it and squeals.

MEGATRON

Jenny, it’s the whole series on

DVD! The complete Monk!

JENNY

Wow, that’s...genuinely very nice

of you.

BLAKE

I don’t know why we did it. Maybe

we were just jealous of all the fun

we heard you guys having. But I

want us to be friends again. Now,

to enter my apartment and get some

well-deserved rest.

STARSCREAM

You said it!

JENNY

Wait, no!

Blake and Starscream walk in and are immediately attacked by
tigers.

BLAKE

(Off camera)

Ahhh! Oh God!

STARSCREAM

(Off camera)

How are they stronger than me?!

MEGATRON

We shouldn’t have given the tigers

all that cocaine.

Starscream’s severed head rolls out.

STARSCREAM

We came to you...in friendship…

Jenny snaps her fingers.

JENNY
That’s it! Heads! HEADS gonna roll.
Perfect! The perfect chorus for my next perfect song!

She and Megatron run off.

STARSCREAM
Why haven’t I died?

FADE TO BLACK

--

--