Me, Valentine’s, and the Monster under my Bed

A story

ScarletWitch912
The Short Place
2 min readFeb 15, 2021

--

The kind of prompts that make your brain whirl at 2:30 am

Ah, Valentine’s Day.

The day where my friends are, no doubt, spending their money either on condoms or tissues. Likely the latter. We’re a sad bunch.

I sigh, looking up at the ceiling with its many cobwebs, noticing that somehow even the lone spider seemed to have found a date for the occasion.

It was going to be a long day.

“Hey morph,” I say. “Wanna go out with me for Valentine’s?”

Shit. I was aiming to be joking. Mocking. It came out more desperate. Sure, even when asking my monster out, I make a fool of myself.

I’m so busy berating myself that I don’t notice it when morph sticks his head out from under my bed. His eyes were as wide as saucers (not an exaggeration, he’s a monster) with shock and surprise, and his fur was (bless his monster face) on end, like a giant, very surprised cat.

Great, now I was comparing my monster to a cat. What was wrong with me today?

I caught the look on morph’s face, and too late, realized he took my question way too seriously. Of course he would when I sounded like a mewling pathetic idiot.

About to groan and explain that I was just joking, I stuttered to an abrupt halt as he spoke.

“R-really?” He asked.

God, why did the creator of monsters just decide to give me one with huge eyes? I’m a sucker for huge eyes.

And right now, I have two dinner-plate-sized ones staring soulfully at me.

Damn the universe to hell.

I contemplated saying no. I contemplated while staring very fixedly at the ceiling, and the two spiders, which looked like their date was progressing infinitely better than mine.

That’s it. I was going to say no. I took a deep breath.

I snuck a glance sideways.

Huge soulful eyes, now with a glimmer of hope. Surrounded by fur that had comfortably settled into a fluffy mass. The eyes locked on to mine with a quiet joy.

I was so going to regret this later.

“Yes,” I exhaled in a rush. “Really”

Then I tried not to smile as my room was torn apart in one exciting whirlwind of a monster.

Written by an equally amused author as she stares at the ceiling on Valentine’s night

--

--

ScarletWitch912
The Short Place

Paramie Jayakody is a 24 year old who works by day, and moonlights as a storyteller who likes to express ideas, be it anything from writing, to film, to art.