100-word microfiction

Performance Review

JoAnne Sweeny
The Short Place
Published in
Apr 17, 2022

--

Photo by Molly Blackbird on Unsplash

By the time the third person starts in, I’ve already stopped listening. They’re all saying the same thing: failure to meet expectations.

I didn’t even want this promotion. They convinced me that they really needed me. The role had been vacant for months.

At first, it was great. But then I began to make mistakes. It wasn’t long before I was being blamed for things that weren’t even my fault.

And now, this. I know what’s coming: termination.

“Any response?”

“No.”

I feel the rope tighten around my neck, and the crowd cheers.

I hope the next witch lasts longer.

--

--

JoAnne Sweeny
The Short Place

Professor of law at the University of Louisville, specializing in freedom of expression, technology, and feminist jurisprudence.