A choice too many?

Sam Colyer
The shortest of short stories
2 min readSep 11, 2019
Image by The Digital Artist from Pixabay

“So brown, or blue?”

“Blue please. Blue like me”

“Fine. Now curly, or straight?”

“Oh curls, definitely curls, curls are pretty”

“And build, what about the build?”

“What are my options please?”

“Well you’ve selected a female, so perhaps slim or sporty? Or you could go for petite, small women are very popular at the moment.

“Erm, I think I’ll go for sporty. Sporty is good, sporty is healthy, I’ll go for sporty”

“Fine. Have you a preference on height?”

“Erm…”

“May we recommend you go with the average? It’s our most popular choice and for a female, it would be 164cm”

“Well if that’s the recommendation, I suppose that will be fine”

“Right. That’s the physical preferences complete. Now we need to address the health settings. There are four life-shortening illnesses on the database: cancer, heart disease, dementia and stroke. The package you have opted for means we can guarantee immunisation from two of these diseases. Please could you make your choice now”.

“Oh. ….I’m sorry, I need time to think…. ”

“Is there a problem? Because if there is we can terminate the current process and put you back on the waiting list”.

“Oh no, no problem at all. Cancer and dementia please”

“In which case, please approve the transaction by placing your fingerprint here. And here. Yes that’s right”.

“Thank you”

“Ok Mrs F, I am pleased to say that your Personalised Fertilsation Procedure will take place on the 23rd March. Please head to the procedures desk where you will be given further details of what to expect on the day. We wish you all the best with your pregnancy”.

“Thank you. Thank you so much. May I just ask –“

“I’m sorry Mrs F you’re out of time. Please head to the procedures desk as instructed.”

--

--

Sam Colyer
The shortest of short stories

|| Author of the Shortest of Short Stories page || Sustainability and people in business || Writer: www.flowcreate.co.uk ||