The Audition

Sam Colyer
The shortest of short stories
2 min readSep 10, 2019

--

“Thank you for coming back in today”

“Thank you for your time, I really appreciate it”

“As the writer of this play, it’s incredibly important that I find the right “fit” for the character of Jenny. You understand that don’t you? ”

“Yes, I understand”

“To be blunt though, your audition was incredibly disappointing. You lack basic acting skills and you showed no originality or stage presence. The word forgettable springs to mind: I found both you and your performance rather boring.”

“I’m so sorry, it’s just my first audition since having the baby and — perhaps I’m out of practice. I can do better, I’m sure I didn’t show you the best I can do.”

“It’s too late now, that’s the purpose of an audition, to portray your best self. You get one chance just like everyone else. And whilst I’m giving feedback, you really don’t have the right look for the character of Jenny. Not saying all actresses need to be attractive, of course they don’t, but Jenny is elegant, exquisite and….well she’s very desirable to men. Jenny is no ordinary woman. And you, you have a very ordinary presence I’m afraid. Just not what I’m looking for at all. I suggest you rethink your career as an actress: you’re never going to be enough to compete for the most desirable roles, or any role for that matter.”

“I’m sorry for letting you down Michael.”

“Look Sarah, just because you’re my wife doesn’t mean I can favour you over other actresses. You understand that don’t you darling? I’m a serious play write and I have my reputation to think about. Go and pick up Jack from nursery and get dinner started, there’s a good girl. I’ll be home as soon as I can but I do need to find my Jenny.”

--

--

Sam Colyer
The shortest of short stories

|| Author of the Shortest of Short Stories page || Sustainability and people in business || Writer: www.flowcreate.co.uk ||