27 And Still Clueless

This is a part of life.

Daisy Rajbongshi
The Shortform
1 min readDec 14, 2023

--

Photo by Daniel Monteiro on Unsplash

The societal norm dictates that at 27, you can’t be clueless or unmarried. Well, in that case, I’m a lost cause.

At 27, I’m struggling academically (Ph.D.) and emotionally, trying to balance out a non-existing equilibrium. Time and again, I get this crippling feeling of being a lost ship, anchored somewhere in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, waiting for something—anything at this point. Maybe this state of being is reminiscent of Vladimir or Estragon from Waiting for Godot. Who knows at this point?

The truth is, I feel hopeless most of the time. This may come naturally to me because I’m an anxious person with an absurdly pessimistic outlook on life, but then again, somehow, I still hold on to this shred of hope. Yes, I’m 27 and clueless about my future, but this can mean something good too. So, it’s okay to feel this way.

--

--

Daisy Rajbongshi
The Shortform

I write about books, fictional characters, movies, love, life, relationship, personal struggles, experiences - you name it ✨